Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: New Scope

  1. #1
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245

    New Scope

    Since it's my birthday this month, I thought I'd buy a new scope. So far I have a cheap USB scope, which is not really good (especially the software is bad, from Hantek), and a Logic analyzer Saleae Logic 16 (+ some multimeters)

    The new scope should be inexpensive, and usable for most of the microcontroller measurement tasks and audio.
    I discovered the Owon SDS1102 (1GS/s, 100MHz Bandwidth). I like the price, and as far as I have read about it, it should be quite usable(??)

    https://www.owon.com.hk/products_owo...l_oscilloscope

    http://files.owon.com.cn/specificati...l%20spec.s.pdf

    Do you think this scope is Ok for hobby?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,413
    Morning Frank
    Happy Birthday - I have one coming up this month as well (28th).

    I have this scope, Hantek DSO5102P 100MHz 2CH Digital Oscilloscope 1GSa/s Real-Time Sample, I picked it up from amazon. From what I read there is no real difference internally between the 100mhz and the 200mhz and there is a hack to get to 200mhz, http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgea...z-bw-for-free/ . I actually did it with mine.

  3. #3
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245
    That seems to be about the same price (EUR 217,99).. so which is better ?
    Is the Software for the DSO5102P OK ? (I have a Hantek 6022BE - It's software is sh*t..really... lol.. anyone wants it ? I sell it)
    Don't I need better probes if I do the hantek 200MHz hack?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,413
    I am the wrong one to ask about the pros and cons between the scopes, and yes you would probably need better probes. I haven't ever tried a different scope but just by looking at the customer ratings on Amazon it seems they were good as any other scope.

    I had a couple usb pc scopes and really hated them that's why I picked up the DSO5102P. My other ones are in the junk drawer somewhere.

  5. #5
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7,559
    Happy Birthday!

    Nice at a glance - Alibaba is $500 and Amazon is more like $250 - No Owon SDS1102 reviews at Amazon.

    To compare this $300 unit has 21 reviews Siglent Technologies SDS1102CML+ Digital Storage Oscilloscope, 100 MHz

    And on Amazon at $379 for each is:
    >> Owon XDS3202E 200 MHz :: 1 review
    >> https://www.amazon.com/Siglent-Techn.../dp/B06XZML6RD :: 104 reviews

  6. #6
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245
    The Owon SDS1102 is about ~200-230EUR here. Yes I saw the siglent, too. It would be nice to save 100 - 200 Euros.. .. Rigol seems to be in the 300-400EUR area too... If you say the cheap scopes (Owon/Hantek) are not worth the money, I wait a bit and buy a more expensive one.. or I keep my hantek (it's ok for audio..)

    @mjs my birthday is on 25th

  7. #7
    Member tcottle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Longmont, CO
    Posts
    32
    Happy Birthday!

    I just bought a Rigol MSO5074. A bit higher than your budget of 200EU but inexpensive for a higher end 4 channel scope.
    Changing the device software configuration (increased BW, memory depth, decoders etc) is very easy
    https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testge...oscilloscopes/
    There is a FW update scheduled for this month. We will see if Rigol closes the hole and/or how long it takes to hack the new FW

    There is active development on reverse engineering the logic analyzer input pod with the goal of a lower cost knockoff

  8. #8
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245
    Ok, Should I buy the Hantek? 200MHz sounds good.
    4 Channels are good, but I don't think I need them... for digital signals, the LA will work.

  9. #9
    Member PaulS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    97
    Hallo Frank,
    I think you're better off by spending a little more and don't get disappointed. A few months ago I had the same thoughts and ended up with this scope:
    Siglent-SDS1202X-E.
    The feature that finally made me choose the Siglent was the realtime decoding of serial busses like I2C and SPI. very useful.
    Sofar, the scope has not disappointed me [on the contrary!]

    Gruesse,
    Paul

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,413
    Just looked at the Siglent on Amazon, and added to my wishlist. If I am ever going to buy another scope think I would spend the extra money and gotten the Siglent. It looks like its well worth the extra dollars over the hantek and no hacks needed.

    Mike

  11. #11
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3,969
    I have debated with myself as well about getting a scope or not. So far I have been able to do most things like the Logic Analyzer (Saleae Pro 8), which does show analog values as well... Obviously more limited for Analog stuff...

    The only sort of scope I have was an old USB scope that Parallax sold before their later version...

    So again I debate on if I were to get another piece of hardware for debugging stuff, in my case would the Scope help out or would I get more usage out of a USB analyzer? Like the Beagle... But then the Beagle 480 would cost a lot more...

    But if you do get the Hantek, it will be interesting to see how well it works for you... My Birthday is soon, but not this month

  12. #12
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245
    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    But if you do get the Hantek, it will be interesting to see how well it works for you... My Birthday is soon, but not this month
    Mee too.
    I've ordered it (219.-- EUR) a few minutes ago. For decoding protocols I have my LA (..which can decode all sorts of protocols, but I've never really needed that function )

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    10
    The Hantek is a good option if it can handle the speeds you work at.

    Me?

    I have an ancient HP Agilent 16702a, with 16533 card(500MHz sample rate 2Channel DSO) a 16522 100MHz state /500MHz timing module, and 2x 16550a cards(100MHz state/500MHz timing, connected so that I double the memory of the 96 ports on the first card)

    I've considered gettng another 16534 card to make it into a 4channel beast, but getting proper probes for it is... rather expensive.
    (I may get a better logging card than the rather slow and memory-limited 16550 cards, though)

    I don't use it very often, though, as it's noisier than my airbrushing spray booth...

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Gadgetman! View Post
    The Hantek is a good option if it can handle the speeds you work at.
    I have an ancient HP Agilent 16702a, with 16533 card(500MHz sample rate 2Channel DSO) a 16522 100MHz state /500MHz timing module, and 2x 16550a cards(100MHz state/500MHz timing, connected so that I double the memory of the 96 ports on the first card)

    I've considered gettng another 16534 card to make it into a 4channel beast, but getting proper probes for it is... rather expensive.
    (I may get a better logging card than the rather slow and memory-limited 16550 cards, though)
    I've extensively used a 16900 chassis with a 16962 card at work. I even wrote a full suite of Labview drivers that fully automated the capture process. I wouldn't buy one for home use, though, also because of the high price of replacement cables and probes. The little wires connecting pogo pins on the end of the high speed differential cable always broke and I was always soldering them back together.

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankB
    I discovered the Owon SDS1102 (1GS/s, 100MHz Bandwidth). I like the price, and as far as I have read about it, it should be quite usable(??)
    I have the OWON SDS7102V and I really like it.

    However, I recently saw a post on Hackaday about hacking a Tek TDS744 into a TDS784 which is a really nice scope. I would share the link from the eevblog.com website, but it seems to be broken now. I occasionally see these on ebay for ~$500 and the hack makes them a 1GHz input bandwidth scope.

    David
    Last edited by Dave47; 02-09-2019 at 03:05 PM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Roma (IT, EU)
    Posts
    113
    I got a Siglent SDS-1104X-E for my birthday (last month).
    4-channel @ 100MHz, hackable to 200 (did not do that as for now).
    Very nice screen, quick to respond to controls, very compact. Can be operated over LAN, which comes handy.
    Stock probes should be good enough even at 200MHz (of course better probes would be... better ).
    This is just for reference; I know Frank already ordered his Hantek (arrived? Do you like it?).

    Fernando

  16. #16
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245
    Still waiting... will take some more days.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,413
    If you do decide to do the hack here is a nice video for doing the hack. Helped me.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mtt-g5putLY

    BTW - didn't do any soldering - was able just to push a breadboard DuPont jumper in the pins - they were tight enough. Did it with putty on a win10 machine

  18. #18
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245
    I'm positively surprised. I haven't tested much yet, but the first impression is good. Good handling, fast operation, good display.
    No operating instructions. An enclosed flyer with a google translation of the technical data - incomprehensible. All in all, I'm satisfied for now - tomorrow I'll try more.

    @mjs: Thank you for the link!

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,413
    @Frank B
    Would send you the links but have no idea where they are now, and they are too big to upload. I put them in my WIP repository: https://github.com/mjs513/WIP/tree/master/Henetek. And here is the 200Mhz hack: http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgea...z-bw-for-free/

  20. #20
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245
    Quote Originally Posted by mjs513 View Post
    @Frank B
    Would send you the links but have no idea where they are now, and they are too big to upload. I put them in my WIP repository: https://github.com/mjs513/WIP/tree/master/Henetek. And here is the 200Mhz hack: http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgea...z-bw-for-free/
    Thanks
    I just tried to update to the newest firmware from january2019, but the scope says it cannot find it on the usbstick ?
    http://www.hantek.com/down.aspx?url=...P_Firmware.zip

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank B View Post
    Thanks
    I just tried to update to the newest firmware from january2019, but the scope says it cannot find it on the usbstick ?
    http://www.hantek.com/down.aspx?url=...P_Firmware.zip
    Thanks strange, assumed you unzipped and just put the .up file on the stick. Know its a silly question but had to ask.

  22. #22
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,245
    Quote Originally Posted by mjs513 View Post
    Thanks strange, assumed you unzipped and just put the .up file on the stick. Know its a silly question but had to ask.
    Yes
    Ok, it does not like my USB-Sticks.

    Took a 8GB SD-Card and a card-reader. This works.
    I hope the upgrade-trick works with the newest version, too. I'll give it a try in the next days..

    Have now to close all windows .. there is a big fire in town. The radio said to close the windows - There may be toxic fumes.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank B View Post
    Yes
    Ok, it does not like my USB-Sticks.

    Took a 8GB SD-Card and a card-reader. This works.
    I hope the upgrade-trick works with the newest version, too. I'll give it a try in the next days..

    Have now to close all windows .. there is a big fire in town. The radio said to close the windows - There may be toxic fumes.
    Should have thought of that. I just happened to use an old memory stick I had laying around, think it was only 4gb which work fine - but it was a really old on.

    Hope everything is all cleared up soon with the fumes from the fire and you all are safe. Hope they told you all to stay in as well

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •