Teensy Synthesizer | Waveform aliasing "Problem"

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohoomens

Hey there!
First of all: Thanks Paul for this wicked platform. It opens up the world of electronics and being creative with it even for programming-noobs like me (I'm starting to get somewhere but I'm by no means a pro!).

So I'm currently working on my bachelor thesis and I've been building a touch based synthesizer based on the Teensy for about a year now. It's starting to look cool and I've got a lot working already, but currently I'm struggeling with audible aliasing effects (I think it's aliasing at least) on the waveform synthesis, especially on higher frequencies from 800hz upwards - nyquist is probably the limiting factor here? With a sine wave it's obviously not really noticable but with triangle, sawtooth and every other waveform which has high frequency components there are loads of audible artifacts. There seem to be a few other threads about this but I could not find a solution so I thought I put this up again. As far as I could identify the problem: I need to limit the bandwidth before the synthesis happens.

For all of you pros out there: How can I limit the waveform bandwith so nyquist won't destroy my beautiful sound waves? :D

Thanks in advance! :)

A 4th order low pass filter with 16 to 18kHz corner frequency should kill enough of the waveform's harmonics to make them inaudible.

A 4th order low pass filter with 16 to 18kHz corner frequency should kill enough of the waveform's harmonics to make them inaudible.

The problem is: The effect on the synthesis already happened before I send it into the mixer, so a low pass would not get rid of the low frequencies and all the stuff that has happened as an effect.

Here is an image of the spectrum:
TeensySaw.jpg

The problem is: The effect on the synthesis already happened before I send it into the mixer, so a low pass would not get rid of the low frequencies and all the stuff that has happened as an effect.