Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 74

Thread: Can't run project.

  1. #1

    Can't run project.

    Good afternoon.

    Could you give a little help?
    Unable to run project.

    When you turn on and power from the USB, the computer sees the device as a HID-Compilant and USB Input Device.
    Upload a sketch does not give.
    Teensy side is assembled by option in the attached file.
    Tell me please, is only one, the assembled project according to this concept is correct?

    A question that is not clear to me and I could not find the answer in the datasheet.
    If there is no connection between Pin 27 (USB1_VBUS) and Pin 22 (VREG_IN0), will the device remain operational and load-capable or substantial.

    I would be glad of any help and help.
    Thank you very much in advance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	schematic-Teensy36-modified-with TQFP.png 
Views:	41 
Size:	69.1 KB 
ID:	16179  

  2. #2
    Senior Member+ Theremingenieur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Colmar, France
    Posts
    2,442
    An unprogrammed "virgin" Teensy always shows up as a HID device. That's normal and ok - the Teensy loader will be able to flash it over HID. If you want it to show up as a Serial device, you'll have to load a hex file with the Serial option.

  3. #3
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,171
    Quote Originally Posted by m-16 View Post
    When you turn on and power from the USB, the computer sees the device as a HID-Compilant and USB Input Device.
    If you have built a custom board, and the MK64 chip is blank, then you will need to press the button (Program signal) the first time for Teensy Loader to recognize the board. When you release the button, it should appear as a HID device with ID 16C0:0478.



    A question that is not clear to me and I could not find the answer in the datasheet.
    If there is no connection between Pin 27 (USB1_VBUS) and Pin 22 (VREG_IN0), will the device remain operational and load-capable or substantial.
    Yes, it should work if nothing is connected to those signals.

    However, 3.3V power MUST be connected to VREG_OUT for the USB to function.

  4. #4
    Thanks Paul for the answer, but you did not understand me.
    I'm trying to download.
    But this does not lead to anything.
    I asked about closed-open pins on the circuit diagram.
    I have a homemade product, assembled according to the scheme attached to the attachment, for which I am interested, because I cannot download it.

    Yes VREG_OUT is powered by a 3.3V stabilizer.

    Button, yes - clicked.
    What is the address received HID device, recheck.
    Thank you so much for the hint.

  5. #5
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,171
    I still do not understand what you want me to do for help.

    But I can confirm this:

    What is the address received HID device, recheck.
    The USB ID is 16C0:0478.

    You can check this by simply plugging in a Teensy 3.6 (the original board made by PJRC) and pressing the button. Did this just now on my Linux desktop machine. Here is the result.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sc.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	127.5 KB 
ID:	16181

    As you can see, the ID is "16c0:0478". You can get this same result in MacOS System Report or Windows Device Manager.

    If your custom board is built correctly, using the bootloader chip from PJRC, you too should get this "16c0:0478" after pressing the button.

  6. #6
    Excuse me Paul, I probably did not write well.
    I wanted to say - I will recheck what address the device receives.

  7. #7
    Paul.
    Thank you so much for your help.
    It is very difficult in Windows to get such information as in Linux.
    This is what I see on the HID device. Unfortunately, I do not see this address, which should be.

    Device Descriptor:
    bcdUSB: 0x0200
    bDeviceClass: 0x00
    bDeviceSubClass: 0x00
    bDeviceProtocol: 0x00
    bMaxPacketSize0: 0x40 (64)
    idVendor: 0x15A2
    idProduct: 0x0073
    bcdDevice: 0x0002
    iManufacturer: 0x01
    0x0409: "Freescale Semiconductor Inc."
    iProduct: 0x02
    0x0409: "Kinetis Bootloader"
    iSerialNumber: 0x00
    bNumConfigurations: 0x01

    ConnectionStatus: DeviceConnected
    Current Config Value: 0x01
    Device Bus Speed: Full
    Device Address: 0x02
    Open Pipes: 2

    Endpoint Descriptor:
    bEndpointAddress: 0x81 IN
    Transfer Type: Interrupt
    wMaxPacketSize: 0x0040 (64)
    bInterval: 0x0A

    Endpoint Descriptor:
    bEndpointAddress: 0x02 OUT
    Transfer Type: Interrupt
    wMaxPacketSize: 0x0040 (64)
    bInterval: 0x0A

    Configuration Descriptor:
    wTotalLength: 0x0029
    bNumInterfaces: 0x01
    bConfigurationValue: 0x01
    iConfiguration: 0x00
    bmAttributes: 0xE0 (Bus Powered Self Powered Remote Wakeup)
    MaxPower: 0x32 (100 Ma)

    Interface Descriptor:
    bInterfaceNumber: 0x00
    bAlternateSetting: 0x00
    bNumEndpoints: 0x02
    bInterfaceClass: 0x03 (HID)
    bInterfaceSubClass: 0x00
    bInterfaceProtocol: 0x00
    iInterface: 0x00

    HID Descriptor:
    bcdHID: 0x0100
    bCountryCode: 0x00
    bNumDescriptors: 0x01
    bDescriptorType: 0x22
    wDescriptorLength: 0x004C

    Endpoint Descriptor:
    bEndpointAddress: 0x81 IN
    Transfer Type: Interrupt
    wMaxPacketSize: 0x0040 (64)
    bInterval: 0x0A

    Endpoint Descriptor:
    bEndpointAddress: 0x02 OUT
    Transfer Type: Interrupt
    wMaxPacketSize: 0x0040 (64)
    bInterval: 0x0A

  8. #8
    Senior Member+ Theremingenieur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Colmar, France
    Posts
    2,442
    These MKL04 processors, where did you buy these? You should know that Teensy works only if you buy them pre-programmed from PJRC. Unprogrammed MKL04 MCUs will not work.

  9. #9
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,171
    Quote Originally Posted by m-16 View Post
    It is very difficult in Windows to get such information as in Linux.
    Well, maybe run Linux on your PC. Ubuntu and others have "live CD" versions where a complete system runs only from the CD and does everything only in memory, so you don't need to install on your hard drive.

    But if you like Windows, this can be done by clicking the device, then clicking the Details tab, and selecting "Hardware Ids" from the drop-down menu.

    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/check_halfkay_vista.html

  10. #10
    Dear Theremingenieur.

    MK04 pre-programmed was bought here on this resource a couple of weeks ago ..

  11. #11
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,171
    Try measuring the voltage on the Program and Reset pins. Both should be 3.3V normally. When you press & hold the button, both should go low.

  12. #12
    Yes, Paul, I can run Linux ...

    Thanks for the tip.
    I will do this and report the result.
    Thanks for the help.

  13. #13
    Oops!
    on Prg button 0.02V
    The reset button is similar.
    On pin 3 and 4 - 3.3V

  14. #14
    Thank you very much for the help.
    I will pause.
    Paul, thanks for the kick in the right direction.
    This means there is somewhere not lost or an extra contact.
    All recheck and I will keep you informed.
    Thank.

  15. #15
    Reset pin now 3.3V
    On the program button, the voltage increased to 0.18V and unfortunately I do not understand therefore not 3.3V.
    Checked the oscillogram on the Program button. No ripple - constant voltage 0.18V
    Everything is completely rechecked.
    Everything is soldered, there are no unnecessary closures.
    Any ideas or tips?
    Thank you very much for participating.

  16. #16
    Senior Member+ Theremingenieur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Colmar, France
    Posts
    2,442
    The program pins have relatively weak pull-up resistors internal to the MKL04. After making sure that the MKL04 gets 3.3V at its pins 3 and 4, you might look for something which pulls the pin down. For example, if your PGM button was defective or wrongly soldered... When you press it, does it pull the 0.18V down to real 0V? If yes, you might try an external pull-up resistor of 3.3kOhm (1mA won't harm anything), just to see if that's enough to get the pin high. If yes, there is a leak somewhere (solder flux, resin) which acts as a high-Z pull-down.

  17. #17
    Yes.
    Thank.
    I understood you.
    3 and 4 have 3.305V.
    All flux thoroughly washed with alcohol, there is not a single trace of its presence.
    The button in working condition with the released state has resistance to infinity and 0 Ohm when pressed, naturally has ground on its second contact.
    I will try to pull up 18 pin through resistor to 3.3V.
    Thank you for your help.

  18. #18
    Dear Theremingenieur,
    unfortunately, it did not give any effect.
    Yes, of course, the pull-up resistor set a voltage of 3.3V on Pin 18, and the button drops it to zero. But it did not give any effect.
    I'm afraid there is some problem with the bootloader, more precisely with the pre-programed MKL04.
    Could you help, as it is more likely to determine what the problem is either in MK66 or MKL04
    Thank you.

  19. #19
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,171
    Quote Originally Posted by m-16 View Post
    On the program button, the voltage increased to 0.18V and unfortunately I do not understand therefore not 3.3V.
    Checked the oscillogram on the Program button. No ripple - constant voltage 0.18V
    Are you *sure* you really did buy the MKL04 chip from PJRC?

    3.3V on the program is caused by the internal pullup resistor inside the MKL04 chip. If you aren't getting 3.3V, something is wrong with the MKL04, or your board's connections to the chip.

    Do you have a Teensy 3.6 handy for comparison?


    Everything is completely rechecked.
    ....
    Any ideas or tips?
    Don't assume everything is really checked. Something must be wrong. Over and over on this forum we hear people say they are confident nothing is soldered wrong. Usually that means that are no longer checking the connections. Something must be wrong here.

    My guess is a MKL04 chip purchased from somewhere other than PJRC (meaning it is blank).

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    Try measuring the voltage on the Program and Reset pins. Both should be 3.3V normally. When you press & hold the button, both should go low.
    USB devices list From Linux
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ lsusb
    Bus 002 Device 005: ID 0b05:179c ASUSTek Computer, Inc.
    Bus 002 Device 004: ID 046d:c318 Logitech, Inc. Illuminated Keyboard
    Bus 002 Device 003: ID 046d:c069 Logitech, Inc. M-U0007 [Corded Mouse M500]
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 003: ID 0451:8140 Texas Instruments, Inc.
    Bus 006 Device 002: ID 0451:8140 Texas Instruments, Inc.
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 003: ID 058f:6387 Alcor Micro Corp. Flash Drive
    Bus 005 Device 005: ID 0451:ca01 Texas Instruments, Inc.
    Bus 005 Device 004: ID 0451:8142 Texas Instruments, Inc. TUSB8041 4-Port Hub
    Bus 005 Device 002: ID 0451:8142 Texas Instruments, Inc. TUSB8041 4-Port Hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 15a2:0073 Freescale Semiconductor, Inc. - 15a2:0073 - Device sought
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

  21. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    Are you *sure* you really did buy the MKL04 chip from PJRC?

    3.3V on the program is caused by the internal pullup resistor inside the MKL04 chip. If you aren't getting 3.3V, something is wrong with the MKL04, or your board's connections to the chip.

    Do you have a Teensy 3.6 handy for comparison?
    .
    Yes. I am sure about that. I can provide a document on the purchase of 5 pieces of MKL04 and 5 pieces of MKL02 (for future implementations).
    Teensy 3.6 for comparison is.


    I'm not sure that everything is soldered correctly. If it were so, I am sure that everything would work.
    For this I really want to find a problem.
    I turned to you a week after assembly. Searched and checked 100 times before contacting you.
    Excuse me.
    For this, I ask for help to find where the problem is.

    Thank.

    P.S.
    In addition to documents on the purchase of pre-programmed chips at PJRC, I can provide a PCB for my project. Yes, it is quite possible that I do not notice something.
    And if you have a minute to take a look at it? It would help me a lot because I won’t find a person who could check me out.
    Last edited by m-16; 03-19-2019 at 09:40 PM. Reason: additional information

  22. #22
    Thank you for placing an order with PJRC.

    This is an automatically generated email message. Your order's
    PJRC tracking number is "335740". Please use this number if you
    should need to contact us regarding your order.

    Here is a summary of your order:

    QTY Item Each Total
    --- ---- ---- -----
    5 IC_MKL04Z32_TQFP32 6.95 34.75

    Subtotal: 34.75
    Shipping: 13.31
    Total: 48.06


    Your package will be shipped by: "Air Mail"

    This is a low-cost service which does not have tracking. We
    will send you a message when the package has shipped, but there
    is no way to track the package and find out when it will arrive.

    We will bill your Visa card for total shown above.

    Thank you for your order. We hope to get your materials to you
    quickly, and that they will help make your project a great success!

  23. #23
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,171
    Quote Originally Posted by m-16 View Post
    I can provide a PCB for my project. Yes, it is quite possible that I do not notice something.
    And if you have a minute to take a look at it? It would help me a lot because I won’t find a person who could check me out.
    Sure, show us the PCB layout and photos of the build. Can't promise anything... but if you look at the Troubleshooting section on the product page and follow those links, you'll see many times before people have shown their custom boards and eventually we figured out what's wrong. We're pretty good at helping on this forum... when we're able to actually see the problem.

  24. #24

    PCB and soldering device.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P_20190319_201244.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	182.9 KB 
ID:	16185Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BothSides.PNG 
Views:	40 
Size:	159.4 KB 
ID:	16186Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BottomSide.PNG 
Views:	25 
Size:	136.3 KB 
ID:	16187Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TopSide.PNG 
Views:	35 
Size:	143.3 KB 
ID:	16188

  25. #25
    Thank you, Paul, for helping.
    The electrical connections of both the chips and the board, I checked several times.
    Pins connected together are not.
    All pins are also soldered to the tracks, even those that are not used.
    I checked this at least 8 times.
    I will be very lucky if you see any problem.

    No need to promise anything.
    Just help to understand where and what the problem is.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •