Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Page 20 of 22 FirstFirst ... 10 18 19 20 21 22 LastLast
Results 476 to 500 of 537

Thread: ILI9488_t3 - Support for the ILI9488 on T3.x and beyond...

  1. #476
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by mjs513 View Post
    @KurtE - @defragster - @MichaelMeissner

    I did try to change the SPI clock down to 12Mhz but still exhibited the same behavior. Even tried at lower CPU clocks with no luck. However, playing around a little more I got it working by adding a single print statement to the eye movement loop, and fixed the whole issue
    I would suspect just having a delay would work. Unless there is something else that the print does (perhaps turn on/off interrupts clears something).

    When I had neopixels and the prop shield hooked up together with uncanny eyes, I found I needed to add a small delay between switching pins 11/13 between SPI mode and normal pin mode or else the first neopixel LED would stick.

  2. #477
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,082
    @mjs513 @defragster

    As mentioned something real screwy!

    FYI - I have been playing around a little with (IF I made a RPI form factor board ) What would I put on it...

    I think I would strip off most everything of my other board...

    Maybe optional power plug, VR (DC DC Converter) Switch to choose. All of the pins broke out with Row of pins on both sides of T4...

    Plus RPI connector... I have one started But the interesting thing is to figure out What T4 pins should route to RPI pins.

    If you go off the RPI 40 pin connector: Interesting interactive site for pins: https://pinout.xyz/pinout/pin1_3v3_power#

    You have 40 pins:
    8 GND
    2 +5v
    2 3.3v pins
    Which leaves: 28 possible IO pins.

    You want:
    KeDei - 19, 21, 23, 24, 26 - To be SPI pins Example: 11,12,12,10,9

    If I want to try out the RaspiAudio board I mentioned, it shows I think what pins it uses: https://www.raspiaudio.com/raspiaudio-aiy
    Which includes some I2S.

    UART: I know I want pins 8, 10 to be UART - Not sure if Serial 1 or not.

    I2C (Wire): Probably want pins 2-3 probably going to 18 and 19

    They also mention EEPROM wire on pins 27,28..

    PWM pins?

  3. #478
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,712
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelMeissner View Post
    I would suspect just having a delay would work. Unless there is something else that the print does (perhaps turn on/off interrupts clears something).

    When I had neopixels and the prop shield hooked up together with uncanny eyes, I found I needed to add a small delay between switching pins 11/13 between SPI mode and normal pin mode or else the first neopixel LED would stick.
    @MichaelMeissner

    The first thing I tried before playing with putting back the print's what to add a delay where the Serial.prints were, tried 5ms but no luck so something else going on that's screwy, that's why I tried to isolate it and see what would fix it even if its only fixing the symptom and not the actual problem.

    As for the delay between pin switching I don't think that would cause us to loose USB on startup?

    @KurtE and others - for now I am done with trying to figure out whats going on with uncannyeyes with the ST7735's going to try SSD1351's next. The fix may be above my pay grade

  4. #479
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,712
    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    @mjs513 @defragster

    As mentioned something real screwy!

    FYI - I have been playing around a little with (IF I made a RPI form factor board ) What would I put on it...

    I think I would strip off most everything of my other board...

    Maybe optional power plug, VR (DC DC Converter) Switch to choose. All of the pins broke out with Row of pins on both sides of T4...

    Plus RPI connector... I have one started But the interesting thing is to figure out What T4 pins should route to RPI pins.

    If you go off the RPI 40 pin connector: Interesting interactive site for pins: https://pinout.xyz/pinout/pin1_3v3_power#

    You have 40 pins:
    8 GND
    2 +5v
    2 3.3v pins
    Which leaves: 28 possible IO pins.

    You want:
    KeDei - 19, 21, 23, 24, 26 - To be SPI pins Example: 11,12,12,10,9

    If I want to try out the RaspiAudio board I mentioned, it shows I think what pins it uses: https://www.raspiaudio.com/raspiaudio-aiy
    Which includes some I2S.

    UART: I know I want pins 8, 10 to be UART - Not sure if Serial 1 or not.

    I2C (Wire): Probably want pins 2-3 probably going to 18 and 19

    They also mention EEPROM wire on pins 27,28..

    PWM pins?
    Yeah - was thinking about modifying my display breakout board to accommodate the Pi header but didn't get there yet. Not really familiar with the Pi pinouts but for pwm - saw there are 3 PWM pins not sure which those would go to but there are several open pins that you could put a couple analog on as well as other serial?

  5. #480
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,082
    @defragster @mjs513 - Second KeDei display arrived today, looks identical to other one I have. Both have R2 and not R1.
    I moved the jumpers from the other display to the new one and touchpaint looks the same.

  6. #481
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    @mjs513 @defragster

    As mentioned something real screwy!

    FYI - I have been playing around a little with (IF I made a RPI form factor board ) What would I put on it...
    Here is a pinout of the standard Pi 40 pin layout


    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    I think I would strip off most everything of my other board...

    Maybe optional power plug, VR (DC DC Converter) Switch to choose. All of the pins broke out with Row of pins on both sides of T4...

    Plus RPI connector... I have one started But the interesting thing is to figure out What T4 pins should route to RPI pins.

    If you go off the RPI 40 pin connector: Interesting interactive site for pins: https://pinout.xyz/pinout/pin1_3v3_power#

    You have 40 pins:
    8 GND
    2 +5v
    2 3.3v pins
    Which leaves: 28 possible IO pins.

    You want:
    KeDei - 19, 21, 23, 24, 26 - To be SPI pins Example: 11,12,12,10,9

    If I want to try out the RaspiAudio board I mentioned, it shows I think what pins it uses: https://www.raspiaudio.com/raspiaudio-aiy
    Which includes some I2S.

    UART: I know I want pins 8, 10 to be UART - Not sure if Serial 1 or not.
    Serial1 might be the logical choice.

    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    I2C (Wire): Probably want pins 2-3 probably going to 18 and 19
    Yes, you probably would want to connect these to 18 and 19. IIRC, you might need pull-up resistors for i2c.

    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    They also mention EEPROM wire on pins 27,28.
    Thats a second i2c bus that is reserved for talking to the hat firmware. When I last looked at the Pi (maybe 2 years ago), they prohibited stacking more than one hat.

    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    PWM pins?
    Pi has 2 PWM pins (pins 32 and 33).

    Pi also has a second SPI setup, pins 19-21.

    Pi does not have analog support through the pins.

    Adafruit makes a perma proto that has 24C32 I2C EEPROM soldered to the board that you can set to identify as a Rasberry Pi hat:

  7. #482
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,712
    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    @defragster @mjs513 - Second KeDei display arrived today, looks identical to other one I have. Both have R2 and not R1.
    I moved the jumpers from the other display to the new one and touchpaint looks the same.
    Glad it worked - that is all we needed if it didn't wonder what would happen if there were no resistors - oh forget I said that

  8. #483
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by mjs513 View Post
    @KurtE - I know the feeling - once you start something you don't want to stop until it works

    @defragster - I just made up a board yesterday and ordered them to test tri-state to see if it works. Probably won't get them until the end of the week to test.
    Attachment 16436

    If you want one to play with I send a couple when I get them - @KurtE if you want I can send a couple to you as well.
    Excuse me. Is this board work for display and touch screen in the same time with teensy 3.6. I'm still have problem with it

  9. #484
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    9,085
    As indicated in the thread - some do and some don't depending on wiring.

    Not sure which version is there without pictures or product link.

  10. #485
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by defragster View Post
    As indicated in the thread - some do and some don't depending on wiring.

    Not sure which version is there without pictures or product link.
    I used this product: https://vi.aliexpress.com/item/32985...65fb4c4dmuBsFN

  11. #486
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    142
    Hi guys,
    I'm looking to completely redesign my half dozen or so Teensy prototyping systems (with the impending arrival of the T4) and these will include a new display. I've been trying to follow this thread, but I have to admit I'm totally confused:
    1) Is the library ready for "prime-time"? Or are there still serious gaps that make it still truly alpha/beta? I can work with (and help debug) minor issues, but I need to concentrate on the my applications coding...
    2) Is there a recommended board(s) yet? I see a lot of discussion that some seem to work and some don't. Not much point in throwing money away

    Derek

  12. #487
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,082
    Hi @DerekR,

    There are several different conversations about different displays up on this thread:

    The hopefully reasonably standard ILI9488 boards (not sure yet how different ILI9486 are).

    Hardware: Some of these boards appear to probably have tristate on the MISO pin and some don't, i.e. they don't work well with other SPI devices. Which I believe includes the aliexpress. Some may have it. And of course some of them have different touch screen options.... So different libraries and the like would need to be used depending...
    Which is why @mjs513 created a simple tristate board...

    Software(https://github.com/mjs513/ILI9488_t3): I believe was working pretty well. It has most everything of my ILI9341_t3n, including frame buffer, Asynchronous updates, ... with some caveats.

    Note: at one time @PaulStoffregen was looking into producing or sourcing a board. Not sure if that is a possibility or not.

    a) There is no way (that I know of) to use 16 bit colors with these displays in SPI mode. So we map colors from 16 bits to 18 bits, when we do graphic operations. So while on ILI9341 when we output a color: it is 16 bits that get sent over SPI(565 format). But for these displays it is 24 bits that get sent. This also implies by simple calculations that updating the display takes a lot longer than ILI9341. 320x240*2=153600 to 320x480*3=460800 (i.e. 3 times slower)

    b) Currently the software in frame buffer mode, is using sort of a built or defined color pallet as, up until T4 (beta 2 board), there was not enough memory on any board to easily make frame buffer. And to do dma to these devices I am needing to do some extra work to make them work. That is I have the Frame buffer, then I define two buffers to use with DMA, where 32 bits per pixel, and then the DMA code round robins between the two, and the DMA isr, when it completes one of these buffers, goes out and translates the frame buffer values through the pallet to fill in the buffer again with the next set of pixels....

    ...

    Again this software so far is mainly been done as an experiment and while I believe things are working well, there could be issues. As with all things no guarantees of anything... But I am pretty sure that several of us will try to resolve issues if you run into them.


    Then there is the KeDei RPI boards V6.3

    Hardware:
    A really strange beast. You can get them pretty cheap: https://www.ebay.com/itm/263427102486
    Again same size display as ILI948x boards, but they are screwy! That is instead of having the display with normal display processor doing SPI, it uses 3 shift registers. It also has an XPT2046 chip on board. This communications with this board are really screwy. If you want to know more details, they are scattered in this thread. Some of which are in the readme file of my github project: https://github.com/KurtE/KeDeiRPI35_t3

    Software(https://github.com/KurtE/KeDeiRPI35_t3) : We probably spent 10 times as much time as these displays warrant. But we were too stubborn to give up.

    a) They are slow! That is for each thing we actually output, they are 4 bytes output and for each of these 4 byte groupings, we have to pulse the Touch screens Chip select pin, so we can not buffer these in FIFO queue.

    b) as such while we started from the ILI9488 code above, it does not support the asynchronous updates (DMA), As sort of pointless, as would probably have to interrupt for each pixel....

  13. #488
    Apologies if this has already been discussed - has anyone tried the new Adafruit IPS LCD with this library? https://www.adafruit.com/product/4311

    I'm in a similar situation to DerekR... with T4 coming, I want a better display for my application, and I am considering this library and display combination. I guess I will know soon enough since I've ordered one of the displays to test with.

  14. #489
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,082
    Quote Originally Posted by wcalvert View Post
    Apologies if this has already been discussed - has anyone tried the new Adafruit IPS LCD with this library? https://www.adafruit.com/product/4311

    I'm in a similar situation to DerekR... with T4 coming, I want a better display for my application, and I am considering this library and display combination. I guess I will know soon enough since I've ordered one of the displays to test with.
    Nope, I don't have one yet Also not sure where I can order from... Adafruit does not send to mailbox.... And don't see it yet up on Amazon, or Digikey, or Mouser ...

    Obviously should work with the Adafruit_ST7735/89 library.

    As for our version, maybe not yet. Would need to see what they do different with the init code. Most of the rest should work the same.

  15. #490
    Okay, thanks for the info. I will be sure to post my findings.

  16. #491
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    Nope, I don't have one yet Also not sure where I can order from... Adafruit does not send to mailbox.... And don't see it yet up on Amazon, or Digikey, or Mouser ...

    Obviously should work with the Adafruit_ST7735/89 library.

    As for our version, maybe not yet. Would need to see what they do different with the init code. Most of the rest should work the same.
    There is an ebay seller in Berlin that has some of the square version of the display (240x240), but I don't see the new 320x240 display yet. I don't know if they send to a mailbox:


    That display is also at digikey:

  17. #492
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,082
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelMeissner View Post
    There is an ebay seller in Berlin that has some of the square version of the display (240x240), but I don't see the new 320x240 display yet. I don't know if they send to a mailbox:


    That display is also at digikey:
    Thanks Michael,

    Yep - I already have the one from 240x240 by Adafruit (through Digikey).
    Mouser also has the square one: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...nSRq95Gg%3D%3D
    Amazon: https://smile.amazon.com/Adafruit-24...dp/B07D95V2V5/


    But so far I have not found any with the 240x320 version. Hopefully soon.

  18. #493
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    But so far I have not found any with the 240x320 version. Hopefully soon.
    Adafruit just announced it last week, so it may be taking its time going through channels. I checked over at the waveshare official site (https://www.waveshare.com/product/mo...oleds-lcds.htm), but I didn't see any 240x320 displays that were the Adafruit size.

  19. #494
    I've played around with a couple of ILI9488 displays with the parallel interface and the UTFT display library. I bought an SPI display but have been traveling for most of the last month and have only had time to unpack it from the box. I'm just now getting ready to try it out with your ILI9488_t3 library. I anticipate that the SPI interface is much slower than the 8/16-bit parallel interface. Is there any interest on integrating a parallel interface capability into the ILI9488_t3 library?
    Thanks!

  20. #495
    Initial testing with the Adafruit 2.0" IPS LCD is extremely positive. It's blazing fast on T3.6.

    I believe GraphicsTest.ino should be utilizing the whole screen, but there seems to be a chunk off to the side that does not get drawn to. Adafruit's library seemingly had the same problem.

    Colors are off as well. Link to a picture to hopefully explain better: https://imgur.com/a/aNpXTVB

    This display looks great in person. If I can tame the issues, this could be the solution I need.

    Edit: defines changed to:
    #define ILI9341_TFTWIDTH 320
    #define ILI9341_TFTHEIGHT 240

    And it is playing much more nicely.
    Last edited by wcalvert; 07-26-2019 at 03:52 AM.

  21. #496
    I think I have the color sorted as well. In ILI9341_t3.cpp, I changed line 275 from:

    writedata8_last(MADCTL_MX | MADCTL_BGR);

    to:

    writedata8_last(MADCTL_MX | MADCTL_RGB);

    And made sure to include "tft.setRotation(0);" in my code so the above line is executed, and boom, the #defined colors are correct now. I'll have to try bitmaps later.

    Question: Do I understand correctly that DMA *is* working on T3.6?

  22. #497
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,712
    @wcalver

    Not 100% sure what display you are using. The only thing I saw posted was a link to this display https://www.adafruit.com/product/4311 which uses a ST7789 chip as the driver as @MichaelMeissner pointed out in post #489. If that is the display you are using you better switching to that driver. @KurtE has it working on the 240x320 display (dma still a work in progress with that chip but it does work). See this post for the link to the GitHub repository

  23. #498
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,712
    @KurtE

    Well - just can't give up on these displays. Decided to give this display a try: https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/57015...l=1#post211150. Think @defragster has the same one. Doesn't seem to want to work - know I am missing something.

    EDIT: Did just find this https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=599702.0
    Last edited by mjs513; 07-29-2019 at 07:28 PM.

  24. #499
    Quote Originally Posted by mjs513 View Post
    @wcalver

    Not 100% sure what display you are using. The only thing I saw posted was a link to this display https://www.adafruit.com/product/4311 which uses a ST7789 chip as the driver as @MichaelMeissner pointed out in post #489. If that is the display you are using you better switching to that driver. @KurtE has it working on the 240x320 display (dma still a work in progress with that chip but it does work). See this post for the link to the GitHub repository
    This is indeed the display I'm using. Over the weekend I was able to compile and use the ILI9341_t3n library to pretty good success. As far as I can tell, the frame buffer is being allocated and DMA is being used to update the display. When I originally posted, I didn't realize there were both ILI9341_t3 and ILI9341_t3n libraries, hence my confusion.

    Great job to Kurt and any other contributors. I can't wait to see how it runs on the T4!!

  25. #500
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,712
    @KurtE

    Just came across this lib for the 9341/9488. Has some interesting features. Any of interest to you?

    http://marekburiak.github.io/ILI9341_due/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •