Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Main chip of Teensy 3.2 Overheating

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    4

    Main chip of Teensy 3.2 Overheating

    Hello , I have some problem on my project. I build the project to Send Value by Serie Communication like the picture that I attachClick image for larger version. 

Name:	Presentation1.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	56.8 KB 
ID:	16610
    I use external Power and I already cut pad between Vin and VUSB . But Sometime my Teensy getting hot some device and Dead . Some Device It's working but Heating around 70 Celcuis at Main chip .I don't know why . Could anyone can explain why ? .
    I read some article they said about Overcurrent / Overvoltage at I/O pin , Power Surge or ESD . Please Help

  2. #2
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    8,597
    The picture doesn't suggest how the LED strips get power and GND. Do the high temps continue when the LEDS are disconnected?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by defragster View Post
    The picture doesn't suggest how the LED strips get power and GND. Do the high temps continue when the LEDS are disconnected?
    I use power from Buck Converter to give Teensy and LED Strip (Same Source).After Teensy getting hot It's still hot all the time even I disconnect all component.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    4
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ss.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	38.9 KB 
ID:	16611
    Here is my Schematic.

  5. #5
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    8,597
    That may help somebody spot something - a photo of the actual build might as well.

    Question picture in p#1 show a number 'n'. Will this happen with a single unit - or only multiples connected? Does high heat or Death follow any of the buck converters?

    When it gets hot and everything disconnected - and it stays hot - if unplugged and repowered does it go to normal operating temp?

    I've not gotten any Teensy processor that hot - not sure what could be in the code that would do that. Might be interesting to pick a free pin for INPUT_PULLUP and then run the code normally when it is HIGH and when it goes low shutdown all the code except go to a simple blink loop and toggle the pin 13 LED and see if the temp drops.

  6. #6
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,086
    What is this part?

    Name:  ss.jpg
Views: 54
Size:  2.8 KB

    In the past, we've seen trouble caused by certain step-down power supplies, especially Traco. Many of them require extra capacitors at their input and output. The Traco one in particular has a misleading datasheet which says the input cap is only needed if using a higher input voltage. Testing has shown it becomes horribly unstable without the capacitor in certain situations, like a battery that's low or with lengthy wires connecting to the input power.
    Last edited by PaulStoffregen; 05-13-2019 at 03:14 PM. Reason: typo

  7. #7
    Senior Member crees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    145
    Others can chime in and verify my assumptions but I see a potential ground loop issue between your different teensy that could cause power to source back and cause damage. I would look at using rs485 chips to interface your teensy and then utilize dc dc isolation with otpoisolators. This will keep the ground loops from damaging your teensy

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    What is this part?

    Name:  ss.jpg
Views: 54
Size:  2.8 KB

    In the past, we've seen trouble caused by certain step-down power supplies, especially Traco. Many of them require extra capacitors at their input and output. The Traco one in particular has a misleading datasheet which says the input cap is only needed if using a higher input voltage. Testing has shown it becomes horribly unstable without the capacitor in certain situations, like a battery that's low or with lengthy wires connecting to the input power.
    This is Volt Regulator I buy from aliexpress
    https://th.aliexpress.com/item/Mini-...OrigTitle=true

    Could you suggest me the good one of regulator . Thank you Sir.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •