Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 32 of 32

Thread: Teensy 3.6 no longer programs

  1. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    11
    Okay never mind, after a few more attempts of the reset->upload cycle, the 3.6 no longer is recognized though USB (on two computers, various cables).

    Something must be damaged. I'll have to replace it.

  2. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by StoneCode View Post
    Hi,

    After several months of use, my Teensy 3.6 no longer responds to uploads from Teensyduino. It has uploaded code on it that continues to work but I cannot upload anything else. I simply get the 'Teensy did not respond to a USB-based request to enter program mode.' continually. Using the pushbutton to manual program does not work - Teensy loader software doesn't respond.

    I've read through the existing advice but nothing seems to work for me:

    - The device is genuine, it was ordered directly from PJRC
    - The computer recognizes the Teensy and its existing uploaded code - it was programmed to be in keyboard mode and will type the keystrokes sequences on it.
    - The USB cable has data lines and is brand new.
    - The program pin reads 3V and properly drops to 0 when pushed
    - it is using Arduino 1.8.9 and Teensyduino 1.46
    - I also installed the software on a second computer and it exhibits the same behavior.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    I had this problem recently, TeensyDuino kept telling me it could not compile for Teensy 3.6. couple of suggestions;

    1. delete arduino 1.89 and reextract zip file, then re-install teensduino. That fixed the issue once or twice.
    2. If the step above doesn't work, bypass arduino and try using installing the blink program straight from teensy loader.
    3. Another screwup i found i'd done. If you open teensyloader, the one downloaded from prjc, before arduino, this is an older version. You need to start teensyduino and let it autatically open the correct teensloader (1.46).

    i thought i'd killed my unit too, but after re-programming from teensyloader (1.42), i was able to get arduino to recognize it.

  3. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    11
    I've done a few reinstalls, but gave it another shot. Same deal. Can't program directly from teensy loader since the button doesn't seem to respond other than reseting the connection.

    I'm back to the point where the computer recognizes the Teensy. The HelloSerialMonitor example is stuck on it.
    But the button doesn't do the 15 second reset (the sketch remains on the board) nor does the teensy software recognize it's going into program mode. Very confused.

  4. #29
    Senior Member+ Theremingenieur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Colmar, France
    Posts
    2,417
    Just my two cents: A new Teensy 3.6 costs 30$. Your working hour costs, let’s assume and include all secondary costs, 100$. I’m sure that you and all the helpful people here in the forum have spent more than 20 minutes trying to reanimate this damn piece of hardware, so trashing it and buying a new one would have been cheaper and quicker...

  5. #30
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,068
    Perhaps the Teensy 3.6 has been damaged in some way where one or more of the pins (BGA balls) is just barely touching the board? At least a couple other people have reported such a problem, where a damaged board would work when pressing down on 1 of the corners of the chip. Maybe 1 or more essential signals between the chips is sometimes touching, giving you a working board, but other times disconnecting?

    A similarly bad or intermittent connection at the USB connector, or in your USB cable, could also explain all the symptoms you've described.

  6. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    11
    Paul, I think you figured it out.

    It now uploads consistently when I press down on the chip. Mystery solved.
    Thanks for your help.

    I'll replace it eventually but not knowing what was going on was a bad itch i needed to scratch haha.

  7. #32
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    8,556
    That was the issue with my problem unit - that's where I was going with the 'firm Button press' - it flexes the board enough to restore connectivity.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •