Custom Teensy 3.6

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,
I made a quick start into electronic design. Also I heard a lot about how good Teensy board is, since its schematic is available I decided that to design my custom Teensy 3.6. However, I have no previous PCB design experienced. I am working with Eagle CAD software and I find the required files (symbol etc.) for the MK66FX1M0VMD18 from NXP's website which is mentioned in schematic. However the MK66FX1M0VMD18 that I found and in the schematic one is not have same pins. So I can not continue to design. I add the symbols first one is from the NXP's website and the second one from the schematic. I need help about this situation and all responses are welcome.

Attachments

• teensy.jpg
    teensy.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 95
The 3.6 is definitely not a good start. I would really choose something much simpler as first design. I don't want to discourage you, but I'm pretty sure that it won't work....

Maybe it makes more sense to start with a simple chip - maybe an ATMEGA in a DIL package.

Edit: If you really want to start with the 3.6 : Buy one or two first - this way you can compare with it and bugfix your board way better.

@Frank B, Thanks for your precious response. I will consider your suggestion and I will check Atmega based hardware. But my question was, why are these two symbols is different although their code names are same, do you know something about this?

Have you purchased and actually used even 1 real Teensy 3.6 board?

Attempting to design your own PCB without even using a real Teensy 3.6 first would be crazy!

But my question was, why are these two symbols is different although their code names are same

Whoever created the one on the left (orange color) is lazy, or lame, or stupid. Perhaps they are all three? Or maybe it was created by a bot, without any knowledgeable human checking the result?