Teensy 4.0 linker issues with STL libraries

Status
Not open for further replies.

exeless

Hello,
I received my teensy 4.0 and I am excited to test it. I am quite new to the Teensy platform and Teensyduino, but I had experience with ESP32 and ESP-IDF.

I have code that makes extensive use of std::string, pair, vector and others and it worked fine on ESP32. However with TeensyDuino even using a vector reserve generates this error during compilation:

Code:
Linking everything together...
/home/exeless/arduino-1.8.9/hardware/teensy/../tools/arm/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc -O1 -Wl,--gc-sections,--relax -T/home/exeless/arduino-1.8.9/hardware/teensy/avr/cores/teensy4/imxrt1062.ld -mthumb -mcpu=cortex-m7 -mfloat-abi=hard -mfpu=fpv5-d16 -o /tmp/arduino_build_438136/Arduino_src.ino.elf /tmp/arduino_build_438136/sketch/Arduino_src.ino.cpp.o /tmp/arduino_build_438136/libraries/EchoBay/Reservoir.cpp.o /tmp/arduino_build_438136/../arduino_cache_326848/core/core_teensy_avr_teensy40_usb_serial,opt_o1std,keys_it-it_c98261a91e586b5428d648c0cf6e354f.a -L/tmp/arduino_build_438136 -larm_cortexM7lfsp_math -lm -lc -lstdc++ -lsupc++
/home/exeless/arduino-1.8.9/hardware/tools/arm/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/5.4.1/armv7e-m/fpu/fpv5-d16/libgcc.a(unwind-arm.o): In function `get_eit_entry':
unwind-arm.c:(.text+0x134): undefined reference to `__exidx_end'
unwind-arm.c:(.text+0x138): undefined reference to `__exidx_start'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

Searching around in the forum it seems to be related to some hindrances that the Arduino platform have against the STL library. Do you have any guidance for me? Using makefiles instead of Arduino IDE won't be an issue for me.

Thank you

Just tried std::string and std::vector. The following compiles and runs without problems. Tested on a T4.0

Code:
#include "Arduino.h"
#include <vector>
#include <string>

void setup()
{
   while(!Serial);

std::string s = "Hello STL";
   Serial.println(s.c_str());

std::vector<int> v;

v.reserve(100);