The two forms of interrupt handlers

Status
Not open for further replies.
There are two different forms of declaring interrupt handlers that I found by googling various tutorials, maybe I am getting terminology and/or concepts mixde up, be kind, I am an interrupts newbie ;)

When timers/counters are used, I only found the form

Code:
ISR(TIMER1_COMPA_vect)

in tutorials but when reacting to interrupts from pins, tutorials always declare

Code:
attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(pin), ISR, mode)

I think it is weird to use the two forms combined in one program? Or am I overthinking it? Should I convert both interrupt handlers in my sketch to one form (which?) or leave it? Is

Code:
attachInterrupt(TIMER1_COMPA_vect, my_isr, mode)

the direct equivalent? Arduino docs say this is not recommended?
What is the ISR() syntax of attaching an interrupt to a pin?

What do you do in your programs?

Thanks in advance,
Ralph

Have a look at this post https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/57386-T4-Quad-Timer-Capture-and-Output to see how you code for a timer interrupt.

The "attach" statement declares the name of the routine that will become the interrupt for this timer (it changes the jump address in the interrupt table), and the "NVIC ENABLE" switches it on in the interrupt mechanism (not all interrupts are enabled at power up). When the interrupt fires, it is extremely important that the flag that caused the interrupt is cleared, or else the interrupt mechanism will not fire a second time - and this can cause a failure of operation on all the interrupts.