Does this continuous simultaneous ADC sampling look reasonable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zapta

Hi everybody,

I am new to teensy and am trying to understand the ADC library. For my application I need to sample two analog channels that represent the currents through a stepper motor coils and track the position of the stepper. Below is a skeleton program that samples two channels continuously.

1. Does the code look reasonable? Any red flags? Any suggestion? I think that ~10k samples/sec should be more than enough.

2. I run built this with Arduino IDE for Teensy 3.2. Will same code work also on Teensy 4.0?

Thanks
Z.

Code:
// Skeleton program for reading two input analog channels.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <ADC.h>

const int adcPin1 = A9;
const int adcPin2 = A3;

ADC *adc = new ADC();

elapsedMicros time;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(LED_BUILTIN, OUTPUT);

pinMode(adcPin1, INPUT);
  pinMode(adcPin2, INPUT);

adc->setReference(ADC_REFERENCE::REF_3V3, ADC_0);
  adc->setReference(ADC_REFERENCE::REF_3V3, ADC_1);

adc->setAveraging(4, ADC_0);
  adc->setAveraging(4, ADC_1);

adc->setResolution(12, ADC_0);
  adc->setResolution(12, ADC_1);

adc->setConversionSpeed(ADC_CONVERSION_SPEED::MED_SPEED, ADC_0);
  adc->setConversionSpeed(ADC_CONVERSION_SPEED::MED_SPEED, ADC_1);

adc->setSamplingSpeed(ADC_SAMPLING_SPEED::MED_SPEED, ADC_0); 
  adc->setSamplingSpeed(ADC_SAMPLING_SPEED::MED_SPEED, ADC_1); 

// We use adc0_isr to read also adc1.
  adc->enableInterrupts(ADC_0);

// NOTE: this return a error status if pins are not supported.
  adc->startSynchronizedContinuous(adcPin1, adcPin2);
  delay(100);
}

// TODO: should these be volaitile?
int isr_count = 0;
ADC::Sync_result result;

void loop() {
  // Take a snapshot of isr values and reset isr_count
  int _isr_count;
  ADC::Sync_result _result;
  __disable_irq();
  {
    _isr_count = isr_count;
    _result = result;
    isr_count = 0;
  }
  __enable_irq();

// Print snapshot
  char buffer[60];