Any work with USB audio?

Status
Not open for further replies.

edsut

Hi,
I am brand new to Teensy; although I've been wanting to play with it for years.
Now with the 4.0 version and high-speed USB ports, I'm hoping to build up a multi channel
USB audio device that would plug into a Linux box and show up as an ALSA device.
I browsed the forums and didn't see anything on this; so I apologize if I missed it.

The ideal project (for me) would be to have the CS42448 board
plug into the Teensy4.0 and look like a 6-in/8-out USB audio device when plugged into
a Linux box. I've done a lot of ALSA work on Linux but I've not done any USB work on
the device side, so without really digging in I don't even know if this is possible.

Any thoughts or pointers?

The USB audio profile has not been enabled in the T4 codebase yet. Taking a quick glance at the T3 codebase, I only see stereo support, no support for multichannel.

Search forum for "CS42448" - there were notes about it being used in some fashion that may be a starting point.

But indeed only USB Serial is working on T4 at this time

Ok, @wcalvert, but that's still good news to me...
That implies that there is some support for audio streaming over USB...
Maybe I should start with a pre-T4 board, to see what already works and
then move up from there...
Is the USB stuff from an open-source stack or written from scratch?
Tx

@defragster...
Yea, I saw some of these posts but as far as I could tell, they were not for streaming USB audio.
But, again, the good news is if USB Serial is working without a FTDI-ish chip in front, then there
is a firmware based USB stack in place...
Tx

Is the USB stuff from an open-source stack or written from scratch?

It's all written from scratch, pretty much by me.

Just this morning I wrote this message about the state of non-Serial USB stuff on Teensy 4.0.