Are there any Teensy 4.0 Audio Tutorials?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pines

I bought a Teensy 4 recently without having looked at anything more than the benchmark (I know, not smart for a n00b).
My reason for going the Teensy route is because I'd like to create a modular synthesizer, and the GUI design website made it look relatively easy. I have some experience with Mozzi on an Arduino uno.

I then come to find out the T4 is still relatively new and doesn't work with the audio breakout board. I assume this is also true about the design tool since all of the design tool tutorials seem to use the breakout? The breakout is another thing I didn't know was required before buying. I assumed the breakout was just to make accessing things a little easier, but apparently it has a chip that you need to interface with?

The short of it is I am pretty confused here without any solid Audio examples/ tutorials for the T4. Are there any? Official or not.

Thank you very much!

The Teensy 4 does work with the audio breakout board assuming you reroute the pins. Paul has said there will be a new version of the Audio Shield that is made to plug into the Teensy 4 shortly.

I posted a summary about the pin differences here:

So, if you already have an audio board, you could plug both into a 1/2 or full size breadboard at different locations and connect the wires. Note, unless you have the new rev C board, you will also need to connect a resistor in series with the MCLK pin.

During the beta test, those of us that were beta testers received a shield that allowed you to mount the Teensy in one set of headers, and mount the audio shield in another, and it did the re-routing of the pins. However, this is a lot of work to build this, and it might be better to wait until the new audio board starts shipping:

Thanks much for the replies.
@mjs513, I was looking at these links when I realized I needed the breakout board, and then found that it was not compatible with T4.