Serial0 vs Serial1 slow speed on Teensy4

Status
Not open for further replies.

groowla

Hi, I was playing around with Serial0 and Serial1 and I've noticed that for some reason Serial1 is much much slower than Serial0.
I'm quite new to teensy but this seems a little strange, unless I'm missing something?

Basically I print 9999 entries through Serial0 and it takes 17ms,
however the same code on Serial1 takes around 14000ms .... I'm not sure whats happening there ?
Something blocking?
Thanks for you replies.

code:
Code:
char data[17] = { "12345670HelloWd" };
unsigned long time1, time2, time3;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial1.begin(115200);
  delay(1000);
}

void loop() {
  time1=millis();

runloop1();    
  gettime();

Serial.println(time3);

time1=millis(); //update time

runloop2();
  gettime();

Serial.println(time3);

delay(5000);
}

void gettime() {
  time2=millis();
  time3=time2-time1;
}

void runloop1(){
  for (int i = 0; i < 9999; i++)
    { 
      Serial.println(data);
    }   // end of for loop
}

void runloop2(){
  for (int i = 0; i < 9999; i++)
    { 
      Serial1.println(data);  
    }  
}

On most if not all Teensy boards (I have not looked at Teensy 1) The Serial object is not a hardware UART, but instead points to USB serial IO...

The Baud rate is more or less ignored as you are simply putting thing into a USB buffer, and when appropriate a USB Packet is sent to the host.

Whereas Serial1 IS a hardware Serial port. And it will output Serial data on actual IO pins. In this case on Pin 1 at the speed you specified in the Serial1.begin.

Yup, sending 169,983 characters at 115200 baud on Serial1 should take about 14.7 seconds. Each character is 10 bits (1 start, 8 data, 1 stop), so Serial1 can send 11520 bytes per second.