Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 101

Thread: Teensyduino 1.48 Beta #3

  1. #1
    Administrator Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    342

    Teensyduino 1.48 Beta #3

    Here is a third beta test for Teensyduino 1.48.


    Linux 32 bit:
    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_148-b...nstall.linux32

    Linux 64 bit:
    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_148-b...nstall.linux64

    Linux ARM:
    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_148-b...stall.linuxarm

    Linux ARM64:
    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_148-b...l.linuxaarch64

    Mac OS-X:
    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_148-b...inoInstall.dmg

    Windows:
    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_148-b...inoInstall.exe


    Changes since Teensyduino 1.48-beta2

    Add CPU Speed menu for Teensy 4.0
    Fix SoftwareSerial on Teensy 4.0 (KurtE)
    Fix Wire on Teensy 4.0 when I2C device prior NAK (KurtE)
    Add startup hooks on Teensy 4.0 (Defragster)
    Fix Audio TDM & I2C2 on Teensy 4.0
    Improve Audio I/O on overclocked Teensy 3.6
    Fix ST7735_t3 DMA (KurtE)
    Update TeensyThreads

  2. #2
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,837
    My hope is to release 1.48 soon, probably very close to this 3rd beta.

    The serial monitor timestamp feature still missing. Sorry, it just isn't going to happen for 1.48, since the speedup stuff bypasses that part of the serial monitor's abstraction layers.

    After we have a stable 1.48 release, I'm going to start work again on the missing USB types and porting the remaining Teensy3-only libraries like OctoWS2811.

  3. #3
    Senior Member+ mjs513's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,324
    Morning all

    Downloaded and install on a Windows10x64 with no issues during the install.

    Can copy from a closed sermon of course.

    Tried the demosauce sketch that identified the issue hang with the PIT timer in startup and that worked now without issue.

    Changed clock speed from 600Mhz to 816Mhz and that work - tested with one of the ILI9341 test sketches. Ok - tested up to 1Ghz.(no cooling)
    1. at 1Ghz - lost usb on upload probably max temp shutdown
    2. at 960 T4 kept resetting - probably max temp reached
    3. at 912 T4 ran a few seconds then lost usb but sketch kept running.

  4. #4
    Senior Member+ manitou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,240
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    My hope is to release 1.48 soon, probably very close to this 3rd beta.

    The serial monitor timestamp feature still missing. Sorry, it just isn't going to happen for 1.48, since the speedup stuff bypasses that part of the serial monitor's abstraction layers.

    After we have a stable 1.48 release, I'm going to start work again on the missing USB types and porting the remaining Teensy3-only libraries like OctoWS2811.
    Any thoughts on WDOG reset not working on T4 (1060) but did work on T4B1 (1050)? Discussed in
    https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/54711...l=1#post217661
    and
    https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/57810...t-on-Teensy4-0

  5. #5
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    10,123
    Downloaded but not yet installed B_3. I see MAX voltage updated to hardware spec for OC.

    Quote Originally Posted by mjs513 View Post
    ...
    Changed clock speed from 600Mhz to 816Mhz and that work - tested with one of the ILI9341 test sketches. Ok - tested up to 1Ghz.(no cooling)
    1. at 1Ghz - lost usb on upload probably max temp shutdown
    2. at 960 T4 kept resetting - probably max temp reached
    3. at 912 T4 ran a few seconds then lost usb but sketch kept running.
    With added startup hook - a serial# port could be made active to push out TempMon data before setup.

    Paul posted the TWO benchmarks - last I ran them both ran at 700 but only one at 800 MHz - would be interesting to see results with new higher MAX V on more than one unit.

  6. #6
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,750
    Beta 3 installed W10 1.8.10 so far so good.

  7. #7
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    10,123
    1.8.10 w/ TD 1.48 B3 installed - with PORTABLE dir in place so it came up using that subset directory. Funny just noticed it was not doing VERBOSE compile as that was unset in current Portable.

    No problem - looks good for WIN 10

    I removed the sketchbook\libraries\TeensyThreads and the now updated included version work to run the USBHost LAN Ethernet build!

    TeensyThreads is giving this minor warning {it was before too}:
    T:\arduino_1.8.10\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\Te ensyThreads\TeensyThreads.cpp:327:13: warning: 'void context_pit_empty()' defined but not used [-Wunused-function]
    static void context_pit_empty() {}
    Code:
    Multiple libraries were found for "TeensyThreads.h"
     Used: T:\arduino_1.8.10\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\TeensyThreads
    Multiple libraries were found for "fnet.h"
     Used: T:\arduino_1.8.10\portable\sketchbook\libraries\FNET
    Multiple libraries were found for "USBHost_t36.h"
     Used: T:\arduino_1.8.10\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\USBHost_t36
    Multiple libraries were found for "ASIXEthernet.h"
     Used: T:\arduino_1.8.10\portable\sketchbook\libraries\TeensyASIXEthernet
    Using library USBHost_t36 at version 0.1 in folder: T:\arduino_1.8.10\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\USBHost_t36 
    Using library TeensyASIXEthernet in folder: T:\arduino_1.8.10\portable\sketchbook\libraries\TeensyASIXEthernet (legacy)
    Using library TeensyThreads at version 1.0.1 in folder: T:\arduino_1.8.10\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\TeensyThreads 
    Using library FNET at version 0.1.2 in folder: T:\arduino_1.8.10\portable\sketchbook\libraries\FNET

  8. #8
    Senior Member+ mjs513's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,324
    Quote Originally Posted by defragster View Post
    Downloaded but not yet installed B_3. I see MAX voltage updated to hardware spec for OC.



    With added startup hook - a serial# port could be made active to push out TempMon data before setup.

    Paul posted the TWO benchmarks - last I ran them both ran at 700 but only one at 800 MHz - would be interesting to see results with new higher MAX V on more than one unit.
    Just ran the Coremark up through 1Ghz, no problems. Was running Demosauce so a heavier load:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	18 
Size:	33.7 KB 
ID:	17827

    Believe @manitou also ran coremarks

  9. #9
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,837
    The multiple libraries warning when only a single library exists is (probably) a bug in arduino-builder.exe. That's not going to be fixed by 1.48, since we currently do not patch arduino-builder in any way.

  10. #10
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    10,123
    @Paul - Portable works for install and afterward without Portable. The SPEED menu works { good now I can remove the HACK to TSET and use external editor and TyComm! }. And at least at 600 and 816 MHz the T_4 spped to run well with the MAX voltage update.

    Exited 'Portable' - renamed 'Portable' to 'xPortable' - restart IDE in the system based prior config - all prior sketches opened.

    As above removed sketchbook\libraries\TeensyThreads and built USBHost LAN code - running Teensy 4.0 at 816MHz - does not result in change to test throughput { PC LAN to USBHost LAN is at 30 Kbits/sec or ~27 ms for 102,400 Bytes in 20 transfers } - but it does run.

    NOTE: At 816 MHz loop()/second is 10,276,692 under TeensyThreads where 2nd thread handles USB/LAN and dropping back to 600 MHz the loop()/sec count is 7,509,250

    Seeing ~8900 high speed pings in 10 seconds with MSFT PSPING64 { same at 600 and 816 MHz : ALSO same on T_3.6 at 256 MHz }:
    Code:
    T:\T_Downloads\PSTools>psping64.exe -i 0 -q -n 10s 192.168.0.23
    
    PsPing v2.10 - PsPing - ping, latency, bandwidth measurement utility
    Copyright (C) 2012-2016 Mark Russinovich
    Sysinternals - www.sysinternals.com
    
    Pinging 192.168.0.23 with 32 bytes of data:
    10 seconds (1 warmup pings) connecting test: 100%
    
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.23:
      Sent = 8993, Received = 8993, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Minimum = 0.31ms, Maximum = 6.69ms, Average = 0.89ms
    BOTH of these now run at 600 and 816 MHz - one of them before failed at 800 MHz - before the Max Voltage bump.

    Coremark at 600 MHZ: Iterations/Sec : 2313.57
    Coremark at 816 MHZ: Iterations/Sec : 3146.39



    600 MHz :: RSA Signature Speed Test Signature computation took 0.085 seconds
    816 MHz :: RSA Signature Speed Test Signature computation took 0.063 seconds


    Didn't test TempMon with speed change or re-run the StartupHooks test yet ...

  11. #11
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    10,123
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    The multiple libraries warning when only a single library exists is (probably) a bug in arduino-builder.exe. That's not going to be fixed by 1.48, since we currently do not patch arduino-builder in any way.
    Good to know you saw it - will wait for fix.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for the update, Paul. Did you have a chance to look why the PulsePlosition library coming with TD does not compile anymore with T4?
    (see also https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/57872...l=1#post217887)

  13. #13
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,837
    Quote Originally Posted by Hacky View Post
    Did you have a chance to look why the PulsePlosition library coming with TD does not compile anymore with T4?
    PulsePosition hasn't been ported yet. It's filled with FTM/TPM timer code. Only Teensy 3.x & LC have those timers. NXP put different timers in this IMXRT new chip.

    I will eventually port PulsePosition, maybe to the FlexPWM timers, maybe to the quad timers. But that's not going to happen for the 1.48 release.

  14. #14
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,837
    Quote Originally Posted by manitou View Post
    Any thoughts on WDOG reset not working on T4 (1060) but did work on T4B1 (1050)?
    Not sure. I tried several different software reset ways. All fail and I don't know why.

    Not going to hold up the 1.48 release for this. But I have put it on my list of bugs to investigate.

  15. #15
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    10,123
    @Paul - check speed text in boards.txt.

    Selecting :: teensy40.menu.speed.1008=1.008 GHz (overclock, cooling req'd)
    Uses :: teensy40.menu.speed.1008.build.fcpu=1000000000

    Starts with F_CPU_ACTUAL :: F_CPU=996000000

    Changing to this works:: teensy40.menu.speed.1008.build.fcpu=1008000000

    F_CPU=1008000000


    FYI: Paul when the 1062 goes offline from OC'ing F_CPU Windows Consoles shows things like this - the last line came on button press:
    Unable to open COM39 for reboot request
    Windows Error Info: Access is denied.
    more ideas... https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/40632...l=1#post126667
    Teensy did not respond to a USB-based request to enter program mode.
    Please press the PROGRAM MODE BUTTON on your Teensy to upload your sketch.
    Unable to open COM39
    Now able to open COM39 (Windows said this port was ready before it was actually ready...)Disconnect COM39
    This T_4 is on the TallDog beta breakout - so some heat can dissipate and runs okay for simple temp mon test at 960 MHz.

    @mjs513 - this sketch has startup hooks coded and attempts to grab the TempMon ISR's?
    I didn't hook up Serial1 or other UART printing for when USB goes offline - but not sure the temp is going HIGH and halting gracefully? prints temps and unless it crashes fast once it hits a 60 tipping point it seems to not be catching the TempMon code for any notice or pBlink calls?

  16. #16
    Senior Member+ mjs513's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,324
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    Not sure. I tried several different software reset ways. All fail and I don't know why.

    Not going to hold up the 1.48 release for this. But I have put it on my list of bugs to investigate.
    @PaulStoffregen

    This seems to be the same issue associated with SCB_AIRCR not resetting the T4. Its like the T4 appears to turn-off instead of resetting. If you reapply power it turns back on.

  17. #17
    Senior Member+ mjs513's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,324
    @mjs513 - this sketch has startup hooks coded and attempts to grab the TempMon ISR's?

    TempMonTest.ino
    I didn't hook up Serial1 or other UART printing for when USB goes offline - but not sure the temp is going HIGH and halting gracefully? prints temps and unless it crashes fast once it hits a 60 tipping point it seems to not be catching the TempMon code for any notice or pBlink calls
    @defragster

    Thanks for moding the example. When I ran coremark up to 1.008Ghz(1ghz) it ran without issue. When I ran demosauce that was when things started happening with resetting and loosing USB

  18. #18
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    10,123
    Quote Originally Posted by mjs513 View Post
    @defragster

    Thanks for moding the example. When I ran coremark up to 1.008Ghz(1ghz) it ran without issue. When I ran demosauce that was when things started happening with resetting and loosing USB
    Note above - requesting 1008 actually runs at 996. I am finding that TempMonTest.ino will go offline about always at 1008 ( 996 or 1008 with edit ) - and prints go funny at 960 with a couple garb chars showing - and sometime it just vanishes on USB with no special blinky lights as expected. Thought you might check the code - not sure it is getting as far as seeing PANIC temp of 95C before failure. Originally I was testing that with lower threshold temps in TempMon - but that was weeks back and that code is gone now

  19. #19
    Senior Member+ mjs513's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,324
    Quote Originally Posted by defragster View Post
    Note above - requesting 1008 actually runs at 996. I am finding that TempMonTest.ino will go offline about always at 1008 ( 996 or 1008 with edit ) - and prints go funny at 960 with a couple garb chars showing - and sometime it just vanishes on USB with no special blinky lights as expected. Thought you might check the code - not sure it is getting as far as seeing PANIC temp of 95C before failure. Originally I was testing that with lower threshold temps in TempMon - but that was weeks back and that code is gone now
    I'll check it out - you guys are night owls while I am a morning person - so give me a little bit. Still have my original sketch where I can adjust the temps. If I remember right it is currently set for 90degC - may have to change the temp alarms for testing

  20. #20
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    10,123
    Right 90 - recalled 95 last look - but that was wrong ...

    static uint16_t frequency = 0x03U;
    static uint32_t highAlarmTemp = 85U;
    static uint32_t lowAlarmTemp = 25U;
    static uint32_t panicAlarmTemp = 90U;
    Posted sketch had them extern'd IIRC to edits in TempMon … some time back ...

  21. #21
    Senior Member+ mjs513's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,324
    Quote Originally Posted by defragster View Post
    Right 90 - recalled 95 last look - but that was wrong ...



    Posted sketch had them extern'd IIRC to edits in TempMon … some time back ...
    Have to find the original doc I used to set 90 may be able to raised to 95.

  22. #22
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    20,837
    Quote Originally Posted by defragster View Post
    Selecting :: teensy40.menu.speed.1008=1.008 GHz (overclock, cooling req'd)
    Uses :: teensy40.menu.speed.1008.build.fcpu=1000000000
    Oh, opps, I missed editing that number. Already something to fix for 1.49...

    As far as trying other overclocking, just editing those numbers in boards.txt lets you try pretty much any frequency. The PLL can generate up to 1.296 GHz. But the DCDC converter is limited to 1.575 volts and it's already at that maximum with 1 GHz. How much faster the CPU can really run will only depend on cooling.

    If anyone has a *lot* of time to try overclocking, I'd love to hear some feedback about whether the rate set_arm_clock() increases voltage with frequency is good. I'll admit, this line was pretty much just a guess on my part based on only a couple quick trials, and on the early 1052 beta boards.

    Code:
    #define OVERCLOCK_STEPSIZE  28000000
    This number means set_arm_clock() will increase the voltage by a 0.025V step for every 28 MHz over the 600 MHz. How much voltage should really be used is just a matter of experimentation. NXP's datasheet gives no guidance, other than 1.3V is the maximum recommended and we're supposed to use 0.95V for 24 MHz, 1.15V for 25-528 MHz, and 1.25V for 529-600 MHz.

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    19
    I updated to Catalina and did a fresh install of Arduino 1.8.10.
    I started Arduino, gave it full access rights to all drives and **was able to compile a sketch**.

    Then I executed the Teensyduino.app 1.48-beta3.
    After it finished I ran Arduino, set the board to TeensyLC and chose an USB Type.
    Then run "Verify" (e.g. Blink sketch) and get an error.

    Code:
    Arduino: 1.8.10 (Mac OS X), TD: 1.48-beta3, Board: "Teensy LC, Serial + Keyboard + Mouse + Joystick, 48 MHz, Smallest Code, US English"
    
    /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/arduino-builder -dump-prefs -logger=machine -hardware /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware -hardware /Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages -tools /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/tools-builder -tools /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr -tools /Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages -built-in-libraries /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/libraries -libraries /Users/bob/Documents/Arduino/libraries -fqbn=teensy:avr:teensyLC:usb=serialhid,speed=48,opt=osstd,keys=en-us -ide-version=10810 -build-path /var/folders/gr/817lnxns137006z93d2dz7b00000gn/T/arduino_build_819008 -warnings=none -build-cache /var/folders/gr/817lnxns137006z93d2dz7b00000gn/T/arduino_cache_290583 -verbose /var/folders/gr/817lnxns137006z93d2dz7b00000gn/T/untitled1941406174.tmp/sketch_oct12a/sketch_oct12a.ino
    loading libs from /Users/bob/Documents/Arduino/libraries: reading dir /Users/bob/Documents/Arduino/libraries: open /Users/bob/Documents/Arduino/libraries: operation not permitted
    
    Error compiling for board Teensy LC.
    Then I changed board back to Uno but also the same:

    Code:
    Arduino: 1.8.10 (Mac OS X), TD: 1.48-beta3, Board: "Arduino/Genuino Uno"
    
    /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/arduino-builder -dump-prefs -logger=machine -hardware /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware -hardware /Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages -tools /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/tools-builder -tools /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr -tools /Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages -built-in-libraries /Volumes/SDDPCIE2TB/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/libraries -libraries /Users/bob/Documents/Arduino/libraries -fqbn=arduino:avr:uno -ide-version=10810 -build-path /var/folders/gr/817lnxns137006z93d2dz7b00000gn/T/arduino_build_819008 -warnings=none -build-cache /var/folders/gr/817lnxns137006z93d2dz7b00000gn/T/arduino_cache_290583 -prefs=build.warn_data_percentage=75 -prefs=runtime.tools.avrdude.path=/Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avrdude/6.3.0-arduino17 -prefs=runtime.tools.avrdude-6.3.0-arduino17.path=/Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avrdude/6.3.0-arduino17 -prefs=runtime.tools.arduinoOTA.path=/Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/arduinoOTA/1.3.0 -prefs=runtime.tools.arduinoOTA-1.3.0.path=/Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/arduinoOTA/1.3.0 -prefs=runtime.tools.avr-gcc.path=/Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5 -prefs=runtime.tools.avr-gcc-7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5.path=/Users/bob/Library/Arduino15/packages/arduino/tools/avr-gcc/7.3.0-atmel3.6.1-arduino5 -verbose /var/folders/gr/817lnxns137006z93d2dz7b00000gn/T/untitled1941406174.tmp/sketch_oct12a/sketch_oct12a.ino
    loading libs from /Users/bob/Documents/Arduino/libraries: reading dir /Users/bob/Documents/Arduino/libraries: open /Users/bob/Documents/Arduino/libraries: operation not permitted
    
    Error compiling for board Arduino/Genuino Uno.
    I.e. after executing Teensyduino.app the Arduino.app does not work anymore.

    Any idea.
    Maybe a problem with the access rights? But as stated above: I gave Arduino full access to the hard disks.

    Not sure if this if of importance: I installed Arduino.app not in the usual /Applications directory but on an external hard disk /Volumes/exthd/Applications/Arduino.app.

  24. #24
    Senior Member+ Theremingenieur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Colmar, France
    Posts
    2,544
    Running already macOS Catalina 15.1 beta here since last night. Fresh install of Arduino 1.8.10, granted rights, the installed Teensyduino 1.48 final release, not beta. Launches, loads sketches, compiles, and uploads without problems.

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    19
    It's working now for me as well.

    Maybe this helps someone:
    To get it to work I had to remove the complete "Arduino" folder under home Documents.
    Then I reinstalled the libraries.

    I guess this had something to do with the access rights.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •