Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is there a way to isolate/swap/boost just the left or right channel?

  1. #1
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    3,309

    Question Is there a way to isolate/swap/boost just the left or right channel?

    I was wanting to test a setup with stereo speakers. I wanted to use the mono ToneSweep, but instead direct to each speaker (i.e. do a run with ToneSweep on the left channel and then do a run on the right channel). This is so I could test whether I had each speaker connected properly. I could imagine also wanting to mix or amplify the individual separately. I pulled up the Audio Tool but I didn't see any methods to do that. The mixer and amplify tools didn't seem to have methods to just use the right channel or left channel. Maybe I'm missing something, but is there a function to isolate and/or mix the left/right channels?

  2. #2
    Senior Member CorBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    258
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot from 2019-10-06 18-07-48.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	17.4 KB 
ID:	17821
    Hi,

    This should work, you only need to set the mixer-values to get the signal more/less on right/left.

    regards
    Cor

  3. #3
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    3,309
    Quote Originally Posted by CorBee View Post
    Hi,

    This should work, you only need to set the mixer-values to get the signal more/less on right/left.

    regards
    Cor
    Thanks. I guess I didn't notice the two separate inputs on i2s1. I'll try it out tonight when I get back into hacking Teensys.

  4. #4
    Senior Member CorBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelMeissner View Post
    Thanks. I guess I didn't notice the two separate inputs on i2s1. I'll try it out tonight when I get back into hacking Teensys.
    Yeah, in the GUI they do not show until you place the component on the drawing-board.

  5. #5
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    3,309
    Quote Originally Posted by CorBee View Post
    Yeah, in the GUI they do not show until you place the component on the drawing-board.
    Good to know. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    3,309
    Yes it works. I thought the I2S objects were always stereo, and they are just mono streams (with some inputs producing two mono streams, and some outputs taking two mono streams).

  7. #7
    Senior Member CorBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    258
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot at 2019-10-07 08-09-23.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	9.8 KB 
ID:	17836
    This is another option

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •