Interactive LED & audio Installation with capacitive Sensing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Avicenna

Hello together,

I am always looking for already asked questions, but this time I will pull myself together and directly ask for advice.
I am still relatively new to microcontroller projects and would be happy about any help and suggestions for my large project :)

The plan is to create a wall mounted installation out of textile (felt) that looks like a kind of moss patch with led flowers. the flowers are felted with conductive wool to also function as capacitive sensor (this works and was already tested)

The simplified aim is the following interaction behaviour:

-if nobody is close to the flowerpatch, LED glows with its standard animation
-if somebody approaches the Flowerpatch, LED glows brighter
-if somebody approached for long enough and touches the flowers, start new excited led animation
-if somebody touches the flowers too fast, LED extinguishes and waits some time, before it goes back to standard

So the flowers are kind of "shy" and want to be approached slowly, to permit any touch.

Right now, I create small prototypes with single sensors etc, but I realize I will have to make a structured plan to make it work in big and wanted some advice before I run into unnecessary problems.

I discovered that Teensies allow a more performative touch-sensing function with only 1 Pin through the TouchRead function, and bought a Teensy 3.2, which allows to hook-up up to 12 sensors. I am using single (not strip) adressable RGB LEDs (WS2812) in combination with the FastLED library. I understood I will have to power the LEDs externally, connecting the teensy and the leds to a common power supply. I will connect it to a wall plug with a 5V DC converter to have a good solid common ground for the capacitive touch.

Now I have following questions: