Teensy 3.0 Buttons to USB MIDI example port failed to open with Pocket Midi

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomfrisch

I'm just getting started with the USB Midi examples w/ a Teensy 3.0.
Am on Arduino IDE 1.8.10 on windows 7 with the latest PJRC Teensyduino libraries.

I uploaded the Buttons to USB MIDI example and when I run Ableton Live, it successfully receives MIDI note messages from the Teensy! Very cool.

But then I decided to use a free MIDI diagnostic tool to check what data was coming through, and I ran into a problem.
I'm using Pocket Midi 1.4.1, but every time I select the Teensy MIDI for either input or output port, I get an error: Port Open Failed.
This tool works with my other midi controllers, so I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas about what is different about Teensy's USB Midi implementation vs my M-Audio Axiom controller that doesn't exhibit this problem.

Thanks for any help.

Update- I just tried with MIDI OX and it seems to work, so it must be something funky with Pocket MIDI.

As before, any shared wisdom is much appreciated.

I've installed PocketMIDI and tested it with an M-Audio 61-es keyboard connected to the T3.6 USB Host port which then sends the data over USB midi to the PC (Windows 10 Pro).
Both Midi-Ox and PocketMIDI read key presses from the keyboard.

Pete

Pocket MIDI not so much.

Can you create a very simple program (not requiring any other hardware than a Teensy and USB cable) which demonstrates the problem with Pocket MIDI. Maybe just transmit a note on & off or CC message every second. Ideally it would be just a few lines of code in loop() with an empty setup(). The important point is to give us *exactly* the same program you tested which didn't work with PocketMIDI, so we can try to reproduce the problem.