Audio Library, SPI Peripherals, and T3.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

gfvalvo

Hi all.

So, working on a project using T3.2 that uses both the AudioPlaySdWav class from the Audio library and an nRF24L01+ module. I’m having problems with the code hanging and my conjecture is that’s it’s due to contention for the (single T3.2) SPI bus needed to access both the MicroSD card (on Audio board) and the nRF24L01+. This is probably exacerbated by the fact that the MicroSD is accessed over the SPI during interrupts, meaning it could clobber an ongoing nRF24L01+ transaction.

Anyway, I figured I’d switch to a T3.6 first to hopefully solve this problem but also because I’ve never used one before. So, if I play Audio from the T3.6’s built-in MicroSD, does that leave all 3 of it’s SPI ports available for other uses? Also, what’s the significance that only 1 of these 3 SPIs has a FIFO?

Finally, it looks like T3.6 pins GND-throught-12 (one edge of board) and Vin-thourgh-13 (other edge) are identical to the same pins on T3.2. So, that’s where the Audio board connects, correct?

Thanks.

SPI on T3.6 - All three SPI busses have a logical FIFO, just SPI1 and SPI2 the size is 1 where SPI0 is 4...

For the most part you don't care, except that if have code that is stuffing stuff out, that gets interrupted, on SPI0, you have a longer time when your are receiving stuff, that you have to read (POPR) from the queue before you lose data and likewise longer on output before your queue will go empty and you have a gap in your output...

Also it at times can change how your code works for certain cases. Example with the ILI9341_t3 library, when you were going to read a pixel, the code:
Code:
	// Push 4 bytes over SPI
	KINETISK_SPI0.PUSHR = 0 | (pcs_data << 16) | SPI_PUSHR_CTAS(0)| SPI_PUSHR_CONT;
	waitFifoEmpty();    // wait for both queues to be empty.

KINETISK_SPI0.PUSHR = 0 | (pcs_data << 16) | SPI_PUSHR_CTAS(0)| SPI_PUSHR_EOQ;

// Wait for End of Queue