high level question- commercial 'analog' synths compared to audio library

Status
Not open for further replies.

colorado_hick

I went to the city last week and was chillin at the music stop and I noticed a lot of newer synths like the moog grandmother and the roland SE-02 that were marketed as being analog which confused me. To me an analog synth would have some sort of mechanical or tube oscillator. I am guessing all of these using some sort of digital generation of waves and digital code for manipulating and modulating those waves? if all of this is digital logic when can you call a synthesizer 'analog'?
Same thing with the eurorack modular synths. Apparently they are passing analog signals between the modules but most of the modules appear to be DSP based. Is that considered analog or digital?
Hopefully not too off topic for this forum, I am just getting into some FM synthesis on my latest build and this guy was asking me if it was analog or digital and I was not sure how to answer.

https://hackaday.io/project/168299-chromatic-button-synth-version-2

That's not really how that works.

The grandmother and SE-02 are analog synths because they use discreet components and analog ICs to generate the waves, modulations, VCAs, filter signals, and mixing of signals. Digital circuitry/microcontrollers might be used to recall presets and supply control voltages to analog portions of the circuit, but because the signal generation -> filtering -> modulation -> mixing is never digital, these are considered analog synths. Sometimes you find digital/analog hybrid synths where the oscillators are generated digitally (via wavetables), but all further processing is done in the analog domain.