Read/Write Buffer

Status
Not open for further replies.
I own an Owl pedal (programmable effects pedal), which allows for uploading patches created using Max/MSP Gen. I was bumping up against some constraints of the hardware, so I recently purchased a Teensy 3.6 and the Blackaddr audio shield. Unfortunately, I'm brand new to anything Teensy or Arduino related, so it's uphill.

With the Max/MSP Gen platform, I'm used to manipulating live audio samples by writing to a buffer on external RAM using a ramp LFO, and reading the buffer at different speeds/direction/size by manipulating another LFO. I've been looking for any way to do this programmatically with the Teensy but can't find any documentation or threads on creating, allocating, reading, or writing to buffers on external RAM... or maybe I'm just not using the right keywords. Most talk about changing sample rates, but that seems kinda overkill and would probably have tons of side effects with the timing of everything else.

To summarize what I would like to do:
Write to a buffer using a ramp to determine the array position. Then read from that buffer using another LFO to determine the array position.

Any ideas?

Thanks for the link! This is all very different from the Audio examples or the BlackAddr audio examples. It looks like there are some crucial constants used, who's definitions I can't find and are completely unused in any of the examples... and vice versa. I'm not sure how or where they're writing to the external ram or reading it or how they define the speed at which they'd do it, but maybe I'm still just missing a lot of familiarity with their code. I'll keep looking.