Teensy - Voltage Control. Which DAC chip?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Svenson

Hi guys, I'm new in teensy environment.

I'm trying to create a Voltage Control with my Teensy.
I would to creare a DIGITAL control (teensy) in order to control an Analog Circuit .. IE a Synth ecc

I'd like to use DAC8565 (16bit with 4 ch out), cause i found this chip used with teensy in a Eurorack Module, but i'm surprise about lack of documentation/example/ecc.

So is there a, alternative, well documented DAC chip that you advise me to check?

I really apprecciate code example or little project :)

The DAC8565 is not an I2C controlled device. You need to bit bang it with a 24-bit serial stream (pg6). Bet if you looked into the Eurorack Module & its software, you would find the code used to talk to it. Only other DAC I have used was the MCP4728a0, but that is a quad 12-bit unit with I2C.

The DAC8565 is used in the ornament and crime eurorack module. It's simple enough to interface with via SPI and the entire App ecosystem is open source, so a great learning opportunity (albeit complex for a beginner). Keep in mind though that as on the o_C module, you'll need to scale the DAC output voltages to eurorack levels. This is outlined nicely here.

If you want to experiment with generating CV signals digitally without the analog circuitry to scale voltages, I'd recommend checking out the MAX11300, for which there is a simple Arduino library here. There is a relatively cheap breakout (MAX11300PMB1) available for about 25€ at the usual locations. With this IC you can generate up to 20 CV signals at +-5V or 0-10V if you like.

Thank you very much.
I know O_C module it's my start point inspiration. But i'm new about firmware (not software, Java ecc ecc) and the O_C code source is not clear at all for me. So i tried to found some simplest example about the DAC8565 but without luck.