Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Teensy Loader on Mac doesn't see my T4

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    7

    Teensy Loader on Mac doesn't see my T4

    Apologies for posting such a well-trodden question, but my Mac is not able to see my new Teensy 4.

    Steps I've taken:
    1) I've been using various Teensy devices for years. This week, I've been working on a Teensy 3.0.
    2) I purchased 2 brand new Teensy 4.0s (from OSH Park)
    3) My installed software was old enough to not include Teensy 4.0 support
    4) I downloaded the latest Teensyduino, which supports Catalina
    5) I wasn't running Catalina, and the new Teensyduino wouldn't run on my older OS X
    6) I upgraded to Catalina
    7) Ran into some permissions issues while trying to compile a sketch for Teensy 4.0
    8) Found a forum post about how to fix the permissions issues (delete all Arduino related files from various places in my filesystem). It worked!
    9) Successfully compiled an example sketch for Teensy 4.0
    10) Plugged in my Teensy 4.0 and saw the blink sketch running happily
    11) Pressed the program button and saw the blinking stop and the red LED near the USB connector illuminated
    12) Teensy loader UI did not change, doesn't seem to see my Teensy 4.0
    13) `ls -l /dev | grep -i usb` shows nothing

    I realize the troubleshooting page, given the above info, suggests that my USB cable is bad. That is possible, but unlikely. I've used this USB cable with many Teensy devices, including just yesterday! It seems more likely that this is related to all the software upgrades I performed to get here.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    7
    Minor update:
    1) Plugged in Teensy 3.0
    2) $ ls -l /dev/ | grep -i usb
    crw-rw-rw- 1 root wheel 18, 3 Mar 26 17:20 cu.usbmodem740901
    crw-rw-rw- 1 root wheel 18, 2 Mar 26 17:20 tty.usbmodem740901
    3) Teensy loader UI does detect the Teensy 3.0 when I press the program button
    4) Still no love for the new Teensy 4.0

  3. #3
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    21,486
    What version is Teensy Loader? Click Teensy > About to check.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    7
    Teensy Loader 1.49-beta1

  5. #5
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    21,486
    Very strange problem. Maybe try the 15 second restore. Hold the button for approx 15 seconds. Release when you see the red LED flash.

    Teensy 4.0 will do a complete wipe of the flash chip and restore it to a known-good program. You should see the red LED on bright for several seconds. Then it will reboot and run the LED blink example, so you'll see the orange LED blinking.

    After restore, it should appear as a HID device (not serial). When you run Teensyduino (the copy of Arduino with Teensy stuff, made for Catalina), it should appear in the Tools > Ports menu as HID.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    7
    Well, the 15 second restore behaved exactly as you described. However, after that process, the device does not appear under the Tools -> Port menu in Teensyduino. Arduino -> About says "Arduino 1.8.10" and "Teensyduino 1.49-beta1".

  7. #7
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    21,486
    Sounds like the Teensy is working.

    Please try a different USB cable. Even if the cable works on Teensy 3, it maybe a case of a marginal cable that works at 12 Mbit speed but doesn't work with 480 Mbit speed of Teensy 4.

    Also, check the version of Teensy Loader (not Arduino). Click the small Teensy Loader window. Then click Teensy > About. Make sure it is also version 1.49.

    But since this isn't showing up in the Ports menu, and Teensy seems to be responding properly and returns to the orange LED blink after 15 sec restore, all signs point to a bad USB cable or some other USB connection problem.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    7
    Well, I'll be damned. I didn't think about the higher clock speed of the T4's USB. I tried about 7-8 micro USB cables I found around the house, and sure enough one of them worked! Turns out the troubleshooting page was right. Thanks, Paul.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •