Controlling effect parameters.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ellis

Hi all, I'm working on an audio effects controller for guitar. I have made everything and have decent sound reproduction out of my amp. I'm now at the stage of adding effects, however I am unable to control effect parameters such as the 'freeverb' example shown below. I can use any values for room size and damping but get the same sound; I'd guess the parameters to be maxed out by the sound I get.

I've looked at examples and searched various forums but cannot find anything to help me. It's annoying me because I know it's probably something really obvious.

One other quick query I have is with the audio output. I'm using dac output which gives 0-1.2v swing but I want to use 3.3v since I experienced less noise when just using adc->dac at 3.3v(no audio lib). I've tried 'analogReference(EXTERNAL);' but it results in no audio output and still 0.6v measured nominal out of the dac.

I'm a mechanical engineer so this is all new stuff to me. Thanks for any help with my issues.

Code:
#include <Audio.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <SPI.h>
#include <SD.h>
#include <SerialFlash.h>

// inputs/sources -> processing -> outputs
AudioInputAnalog       input_signal(A0);
AudioEffectFreeverb        freeverb1; 
AudioOutputAnalog        dac;
//AudioOutputUSB           usb1;

//AudioConnection patchCord1(input_signal, dac);
AudioConnection          patchCord1(input_signal, freeverb1);
AudioConnection          patchCord2(freeverb1, dac);
//AudioConnection          patchCord3(input_signal, 0, usb1, 1);

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
AudioMemory(12);

analogReference(INTERNAL);

freeverb1.roomsize(0.2);
freeverb1.damping(0.5);

}

void loop() {

}

The audio design web page says this about freeverb:
Freeverb mono consumes about 21% of the CPU time on Teensy 3.2 and requires about 22K of RAM.
The "22K of RAM" suggests that you need to allocate more memory for it. Try:
Code:
AudioMemory(64);