[posted] TeensyMIDIPolySynth

kd5rxt-mark

OK, so here's yet another Teensy4-based MIDI-capable 16-note polyphonic 2-voice synthesizer . . . that's a real mouthful.

PERSONAL BACKGROUND: I am a software engineer by day, so I write software (almost) all day long. My wife thinks I'm absolutely crazy for many reasons, but mostly because I also like to write software when I get home & want to relax !! However, truth be known, my hobby software is very often quite sloppy & unprofessional, so if you happen to take a look at my sketch, make sure to set your expectations appropriately low.

PROJECT OBJECTIVE/BACKGROUND: I've always been interested in synthesizers from the time that I started developing my taste in late '70s / early '80s music (think Styx, Kansas, ELO, etc.). I've longed to understand both how synths worked & the deep meaning of all of the terminology (e.g. VFO, LFO, CV, envelope, attack, decay, filtering, etc.). In the process of ordering a PC board from OshPark (in addition to software, I dabble in hardware/PCBs as well), the checkout process asked if i would like to add a Teensy 4.0 to my order. I thought to myself "I don't have any idea what a Teensy is, but for the price. . . sure !!" Upon receipt of that order, I did some quick research on "Teensy projects" & the first thing I found was, with the addition of an inexpensive "Teensy Audio Board", I could produce a very functional synthesizer. BONUS !! So, off I went . . .

CAPABILITIES (the initial idea for the capabilities that I would target was based upon a friend's Behringer Neutron - a *real* synthesizer, albeit monophonic & only *slightly* more expensive):