Teensy 4.1 with TFT Touchscreen ILI9341 and QVgaTest_Touch Board

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShogunBaker

I have searched the boards and don't think anyone has asked this question. I am new so please forgive me if I missed it somewhere. I am also not an electronics expert and just a hobbiest. So any guidance is appreciated.

I am purchasing a Teensy 4.1 board. I am hoping to use it for a custom game controller. I would like to use a touchscreen as a custom display screen. On the PJRC store page for the Color 320x240 TFT Touchscreen using the ILI9341 Controller Chip (https://www.pjrc.com/store/display_ili9341_touch.html), it shows several Teensy versions including a picture of a 3.2 and what appears to be a 4.1 connected to an interface board referred to as the "purple test board" which links to the "qvgatest_touch" board (https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/TG395I75) by @PaulStoffregen.

I am unclear about the purpose of the interface board other than to provide a connection between the Teensy and the ILI9341. I see a power connector, a line voltage regulator, and a few resistors. I understand the display uses 3.3 v so I was thinking maybe the board electronics provide some regulated 3.3v output, but the text on the display's page at the PJRC store says:

"This ILI3941 display works well with Teensy 4.0 and 4.1, using the standard connections shown in the table."

Outside of 1 resistor mentioned in the table for the LED, do I need the board or can I directly connect to the pins on the Teensy 4.1 to the ILI9341 as indicated? Or is the qvgatest_touch board providing another function? Maybe for an earlier Teensy? If it is needed or recommended, can someone explain what it does?

Any help is appreciated.

I am unclear about the purpose of the interface board other than to provide a connection between the Teensy and the ILI9341.

Indeed that is all it does, just connect Teensy to the display.