Teensy 4.1 flash/psram usage

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdavis2

Is there support and/or examples of using the backside flash/psram memory on the Teensy 4.1? Or a list of what the Auduino pin number are for the memories. I'm new to this and not sure how to map the pins on the schematic to the Arduino "pin" numbers. I need to add a chunk of flash to the 4.1 for some permanent storage and I didn't want to mess around with SD cards.

Thanks!

There are posts - probably T_4.1 beta thread - that show what pin numbers are associated with the QSPI pad groups on the T_4.1.

But unless using for direct I/O - the MCU knows what to do with those pins running example code below like SPIFFS.

If using the linked and listed PSRAM chip ( only one 8 MB chip seen/tested as also sold by PJRC ) - when mounted on the smaller spaced pads it will be active and ready for direct memory addressing on entering setup(). Those addresses are in samples - Paul posted a RAM test - that may be on a 1.52 Beta thread.

Did a QSPI search and this post appeared - didn't open :: Question-about-Teensy-4-1-memory-pads

There are posts - it seems a thread - about locating sources for the PSRAM chip

The larger spaced pads can hold another PSRAM or Winbond 16 MB Flash as tested. If a 2nd PSRAM it linearly extends that QSPI memory of the first.

If FLASH :: it requires init code and is direct access readable - but writes must use necessary 'helper code' to assure it is formatted and then written. There are code examples for both in the SPIFFS related library noted in the forum and hosted here : github.com/PaulStoffregen/teensy41_extram

I have posted information about the back pins on a few different threads, including links to my excel document and PDFs I created from it...