Teensy 4.0 I2S connections to TAS2770

Status
Not open for further replies.

cjwu382

Hi,

I'm hoping to use a Teensy 4.0 to drive a TAS2770 digital input mono class-D audio amplifier (https://www.ti.com/product/TAS2770#tech-docs), but am not sure how the I2S pins on the Teensy align. I'm new to audio so would appreciate the help.

On the TAS2770 I will need:

SDIN (TDM serial data input)
SDOUT (TDM serial data output)
FSYNC (word select)
SBCLK (TDM serial bit clock)

On the Teensy 4.0, I see pins:

MCLK1
MCLK2

BCLK1
BCLK2

LRCLK1
LRCLK2

S/PDIF IN
S/PDIF OUT

IN1
IN2

OUT1A
OUT1B
OUT1C
OUT1D
OUT2

MQSR
MQSL

Can anyone please suggest a connection scheme?
Also, is there a good place to find documentation on each of these pin functions on the Teensy?

Much appreciated!

SDIN (TDM serial data input) = OUT1A from teensy to SDIN of chip.
SDOUT (TDM serial data output) = No connection. Probably to a second amp chip for the second channel because this chip is mono (look at datasheet).
FSYNC (word select) = LRCLK1 is the same thing as FS...
SBCLK (TDM serial bit clock) = BCLK1

So I guess this chip doesn't use the MCLK? It has a PLL to create it, most likely. If it did need one it's on MCLK1.

Nice project... I'll check the datasheet for you when I get a chance. Hook these lines up and then run a file/example/audio/passthroughUSB sketch and it probably will work out of the box.

So I guess this chip doesn't use the MCLK? It has a PLL to create it, most likely. If it did need one it's on MCLK1.
Datasheet touts MCLK-free operation
Nice project... I'll check the datasheet for you when I get a chance. Hook these lines up and then run a file/example/audio/passthroughUSB sketch and it probably will work out of the box.

Well no, don't do that, that chip's logic signals are nominal 1.8V, abs-max 2.3V level, so first get some level shifting circuitry...

And don't forget the I2C interface you'll need that to program the registers, so bidirectional 3.3V <-> 1.8V level shifting is