A subharmonic synthesiser and polymetric sequencer with Teensy 4 and audio library

Status
Not open for further replies.

kallikak

Hello.

I thought I'd share a project I've been working on for the last 2 months - A subharmonic synthesiser and polymetric sequencer with Teensy 4 and audio library inspired by Euclidean Rhythms, and the Moog Subharmonicon (and standard subtractive synthesis).

Euclidean rhythms use the Euclidean algorithm to describe how to best allocate some number of beats within a bar of arbitrary size. This connection has only recently come to light - see http://cgm.cs.mcgill.ca/~godfried/publications/banff.pdf.

Additionally, the Moog Subharmonicon is a very recent synthesizer that uses polyrhythms to selectively trigger across two 4-note sequencers. Very interesting musical patterns are created by the changing interleaving when the rhythms share no small common divisors.

I came across these two things at about the same time and thought the double sequencer idea could well be joined with a Euclidean rhythm generator to make an interesting synthesizer. Using a Teensy 4.0 and the Audio shield and library, I created "The Euclidean" - a 4-voice subharmonic synthesizer and polymetric sequencer.
Here's some pics from while I was building it, and the final prototype (outside of its case still)

Euclid1.jpg
Euclid2.jpg
Euclid3.jpg
Euclid4.jpg

Brief specs are:
  • 2 primary oscillators supporting various waveshapes, each with an associated sub-oscillator with frequency determined by dividing the primary frequency by an integer from 2 to 16
  • frequency modulation, pulse width modulation, quantisation
  • AD envelope
  • LFO (with multiple waveshapes)
  • Resonant low-pass filter with (positive and negative) envelope and LFO modulation
  • Chorus, Flanger, Delay effects
  • Three independent "Euclidean Rhythm" generators
  • Two independent 4 note sequencers - each driving one of the oscillators, and driven by various combinations of rhythm events.