Control Platform Based on Teensy+FPGA

Status
Not open for further replies.

maturrutia

Hi everyone, I'm a power electronics engineer and I'm looking for information about the Teensy. I'm starting to learn about MCU and embedded system.

I really like the Teensy capability but I would like to know if it's possible to develop a high speed communication with a FPGA. The FPGA will be used for periphericals, like several ADCs and pulses from PWM schemes (designed in the FPGA). The teensy unit will be used just for signal processing.

Previously, I've worked with the TMDSDSK6713 with a FPGA connected in the EMIF BUS. It works well but now I'm having issues with the computational burden in the DSP. For your information, that is all my experience regarding DPS or MCU units.

Regarding my requirements, is it feasible to use most of the GPIO of the teensy 4.0 (or 4.1) to communicate with the FPGA ?. How fast can be this type of implementation?. Is it a real improvement in terms of the speed computation over the previous control platform (TMDSDSK6713 +FPGA)?.

I will really appreciate any observation of this query.
Thank you !
Matias

Tell us more about the implementation details. Is the FPGA talking to the Teensy using analog, digital, or both? How many I/O channels do you need?

For digital communication, the Teensy has a DMA controller, so you can send and receive arbitrary data very quickly without the CPU itself burning cycles. Of course, it also speaks various serial formats (I2C, SPI, UART).

Hi, thank you for your reply. I want only digital communication.

The FPGA has to measure about 40 signals (using external ADCs) and have to send about 55-60 gating pulses to the power converter (actuator).
I intend to use the teensy just for signal processing (to compute the inherent control algorithms for regulating the converter variables).