Implementing bidirectional DShot on Teensy 3.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

clingmanr

I am a relative newbie, but I am trying to accomplish something a bit advanced/technical. I am trying to implement bidirectional DShot communication with a DShot600 ESC. Using the DSHot protocol this way entails sending the 16 bit command packet to the ESC signal line at 600,000 bits per second (with each bit encoded by pulse width, 1.67 usec total per bit), followed by listening for a returning telemetry packet in the same format.

The transmitting part is already mostly solved and working, as I can already find a few implementations of DShot transmitting using DMA (like the teensyshot library or some code provided by christoph in this thread). The receiving part looks more challenging (the only published code I can find that does this is a fork of BLHeli_S written in assembly and some code in the BetaFlight code base that I can't seem to get a grip on), and this is where I could use some suggestions on how i might proceed. Ideally I would be able to quickly switch one pin from transmitting to receiving and back again as the protocol intends, but as I am not knowledgeable as to how to do this I was considering hooking the ESC signal line to two separate pins for transmitting and receiving, then just listening for the telemetry packets when a command packet is not being sent. So far I have two ideas of directions to try to go with this, but please tell me if I'm missing something easier.

The first idea is to use the FreqMeasureMulti library to watch the receiving pin and give me the pulse widths in nanoseconds to then translate into the bits. The problem I suspect this approach would run into is that both libraries configure and use FTM0, which I'm guessing would conflict and prevent them from working properly. Would it be simple to convert the FreqMeasure library to use FTM1 or FTM2 to let them work together?