Teensy 4.0/4.1 HOTAS Joystick

FlightSim

Greetings all, glad to be here -- I want to start by saying that I am very new to this world, so please use soft hands in your responses. I have experience in coding, but nothing like this, however, I am very willing to learn.

The project that I am interested in executing is utilizing an off-shelf USB HOTAS (joystick and throttle) with a Teensy 4.0/4.1 in order to fly an RC airplane.

If anyone has any starter information or prior experience utilizing USB joystick inputs with Teensy hardware -- I'd be very appreciative of some guidance. Some basic questions that I have are:
  1. "how does Teensy interpret USB signals"
  2. "how would Teensy be able to receive inputs from two user input devices (throttle and stick"
  3. "if Teensy is not the best venue for this, what in your estimation would be a better route?"

Thank you very much for your time. I look forward to the responses.

You can probably plug in the Joystick and the like into a Host USB adapter for a T3.6, T4 or T4.1. The 3.6 and 4.1 are the easiest as they have a 5 pin connector
That can go directly to a USB cable like the ones sold by PJRC: https://www.pjrc.com/store/cable_usb_host_t36.html

The T4, is a little harder as the USB D+ and D- pins are SMT bottom pins and you need to route +5v and GND and usually best to have a power management chip... Not hard but easier with the other two which have this all built in.

There is a library USBHost_t36 that supports a lot of different USB devices.

There is some information in the thread: https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/49099-T3-6-USB-Host-Joysticks

Not sure if we have tried your joysticks or not... As for multiple devices, you can plug in a hub, which will require you to add a HUB object to the sketch. You might take a look at the joystick example for the library.

I wanted to say thank you for responding so quickly!

A couple questions...