Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: External DSP only for fx

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    199

    External DSP only for fx

    Expecting to use very complex algorithms that can consume all available memory, does it make sense to use an external dsp only for High quality FX with custom algorithms?

    If so, which one?
    and why?

    How should it fit into a normal teensy project?

  2. #2
    Senior Member DD4WH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    676
    ??? Could you be a little more specific in your question?

    I think the T4.1 is more than capable of doing complex DSP.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    199
    in my project the audio part can be done with FAUST, the idea is to make even complex algorithms so my fear is that the effects may be affected.
    We use T4.1

  4. #4
    Senior Member DD4WH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    676
    Could you specify your project and the kind of DSP you are planning? Otherwise there is no chance anyone could help you with an idea.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    199
    ok, the project is a board designed for those who want to play but also for those who want to develop their own instrument or teaching code/dsp.
    There will be 5 encoders, some rgb leds (17), 5 buttons with leds, a oled display, midi in / out audio in / out usbhost, sd card and headphone output.
    By working with complex algorithms such synth + sequencer or complex synthesizers, resources could run out and therefore there would be no room for complex reverbs or other types of effects that require large resources.

    however I could be wrong and the teensy 4.1 is enough

  6. #6
    Senior Member DD4WH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    676
    I am not at all familiar with FAUST, but by looking at the webpage it seems that there are things that can be very easily done with a T4.1 (all the filtering stuff) and more complex/demanding things (pitch shift --> CPU power, reverb --> memory)

    Cannot say whether the T4.1 would be enough for your purpose. You will have to try by yourself. Reverb needs large memory -for example-, so without external memory chips you will not succeed with that. But the T4.1 has two solder places for RAM and FLASH, so could be suited.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    199
    yes, we planned to add both the ram and the flash

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •