Would I need an ADC if using pots with a i2c GPIO expander?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hitachii

Hello,

I'm looking to attach 16 10k pots to an MCP23017 i2c GPIO expander, and connect that to a Teensy 4.1. The i2c ports on the 4.1 are on the same pins as the analog pins.

Would the i2c ports on the 4.1 automatically work as ADC converters, or would I need to get an additional ADC breakout to convert the analog potentiometers to digital via the i2c bus?

I'm very new to these concepts to let me know if that is unclear. Thank you.

An mcp230017 is a digital chip. It does not have analog inputs to connect to pots, for that you need a/d conversion. The teensy can connect to many pots, but if you have 16 I'd suggest a 74c4067 analog mux. The teensy has many analog input pins to connect a mux, but if you're using 16 you'll be using nearly all the teensy's analog pins (which may be ok) as well as using nearly half the available pins to control other stuff (which might not).

Oh I get it, because you would want to convert it to digital *before* the mcp23017. That makes more sense. I had thought that the chip could read analog signal. Thank you.

I give you an A for effort, but I admit to seeing you have much to learn. But keep trying.

No, you don't want to convert to digital before the 23017, you don't need th 23017. Get familiar with the teensy and you'll get it.

"GPIO expander" is another way of saying "two-way shift register." Those are always purely digital. Each line is a single bit, so it can only be 1 or 0. It is possible to have some Rube Goldberg contraption ADC each input and transfer the result bit-by-bit through the register, and that is more or less what you get from the 74HC4051. Like a port expander, it is bidirectional, so you can also output some analog voltage if you like. Quite a versatile little package!