Store values for a period of time.

Status
Not open for further replies.

frankzappa

I need help with a solution to a problem.

I want to store some calculations of sensor values (peaks etc.) for a period of time say 2 milliseconds and when that peak "expires" I want to store it in another variable that saves the value for another 5ms or so.

I need to compare values that ocurred in the last ~2ms to the values that ocurred in the ~5ms before that.

I have no clue how to do it.

I'm still kind of new to programming so in need of guidance.

I'd time stamp all the values and store them in a FIFO buffer. Then it's easy to go through the FIFO and do any comparisons you want.

As @Jonr stated... you could timestamp...

But it will likely depend on your specific desired requirements...
That is how often are you doing samples? For example suppose you are doing 100 per second.
So you find a peak on the 100th element of your 2 seconds period and save that away.

Do you want to hold onto that specific value or are wanting the peak for the last 2 seconds?
i.e. the last 200 samples? So after another 100 samples that 100th sample is no longer within the last 2 seconds but maybe the 120th one is which may now be the new peak? Or are you wanting to get a peak for two seconds, which hold onto and then do sampling for the next two seconds compute a new peak for those two seconds, which replaces the first one?

The solution for this somewhat subtle difference maybe very different. In first case you may need to hold onto all of the samples for that time periods, such that when the current Peak ages out you can compute the current new peak. Note: there are probably easy ways to remove of the entries as you go... like remember sub-peaks...

The second one is simply remember certain peaks for periods and age those out. Like the peak for each second for the last 5 seconds... And then simply look at the last two for the peak or two second peak ...
sorry for rambling here.