How to add a delay to an analog read?

Status
Not open for further replies.

frankzappa

Hello, I'm reading analog sensors and want to make delayed versions of it in a set number of milliseconds or samples.

I'm thinking something like this:

Code:
    out = delayBuffer[i];
    delayBuffer[i++] = in;
    if(i >= delaySetting) i = 0;

However, how do I make that for multiple sensors? I'm new with coding and just starting to learn about OOP. Is that something that could be done in a class?

Actually it is quite simple to use. Here a quick implementation using this ring buffer.

Code:
#include "Arduino.h"
#include "circular_buffer.h"

Circular_Buffer<int, 1024> buffer;  // use 1kB of int variables for the buffer

constexpr unsigned dt = 1000;       // time between two measurements in microseconds
constexpr unsigned delta = 10;      // delay line. e.g. delay by 10 measurements

void setup()
{
    while (!Serial) {}

// prepare the buffer with dummy data to have the read pointer delta steps before the write pointer
    for (unsigned i = 0; i < delta; i++)
    {
        buffer.push_front(0);
    }
}

int newValue = 0;

void loop()
{
    static elapsedMicros stopwatch = 0;

if (stopwatch > dt)   // do work at a fixed interval 
    {
        stopwatch -= dt;

newValue++; // simulate a new value, replace with a real measurement

buffer.push_front(newValue);           // add one value at the front of the buffer
        int oldValue = buffer.pop_back();     // read one value from the back.  Since you always do a read and a write the distance (delay) will stay constant.

Serial.printf("old: %d  new %d \n", oldValue, newValue);
    }
}

Output:
Code:
old: 0  new 1 
old: 0  new 2 
old: 0  new 3 
old: 0  new 4 
old: 0  new 5 
old: 0  new 6 
old: 0  new 7 
old: 0  new 8 
old: 0  new 9 
old: 0  new 10 
old: 1  new 11 
old: 2  new 12 
old: 3  new 13 
old: 4  new 14 
old: 5  new 15 
old: 6  new 16 
old: 7  new 17 
old: 8  new 18 
old: 9  new 19 
old: 10  new 20 
old: 11  new 21