Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!

Thread: What type of cable to use

What type of cable to use

Hi

Maby a dumb question but I'm just an newbie on this, but could anyone recommend me a specific cable to use for my Teensy to connect via SPI an so on?

I've tried to search for a web shop in Europe to order from but without success, mainly do to my lack of knowledge...

/Hans

Sorry, not sure what you are asking?

SPI to connect to what? At least for experimenting, I will often start off with my Teensy plugged into a breadboard, and then use some form of breadboard wires to connect it to whatever devices I am experimenting with.

My last set of different breadboard connections was with some of these: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B089FZ79CS/

Not sure how good they are yet, but at least I try to get some fresh ones from time to time.

But for SPI on my Teensy boards connect to pins 11-13 plus at least one other pin for chip select and of course a ground and most devices will want some form of power.

SPI is for short distances only, same PCB or a nearby module. Thus there's no connector standard for it.

If you are trying to use an SPI display over a wire, i'm doing the same. I'm using Cat5 ethernet cable and have been able to use cable distance of 20 feet--however my standard setup is around 4 feet in an electrically noisy electric race car. The remote display PCB has a few push buttons for menus and such. i've implemented a Teensy 3.2, an ILI9341 2.4 inch display, custom printed PCB board RJ45 connectors

A few tricks I'm doing

1. gnd and MOSI are on one twisted pair -- an absolute must
    2. SCK and Vcc are on another twisted pair -- pretty sure this is a must (I'm mainly trying to wrap key lines around some type of barrier)
    3. inline 100 ohm resistors on the MOSI and SCK lines at the MCU side--I found not really needed but many claim it helps counteract wire capacitance