Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: midi 5x5 custom port names, hiding 6-16 ports?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    16

    midi 5x5 custom port names, hiding 6-16 ports?

    using a modified 3x3 sketch for 5 ports. the sketch works fine, but since midi 16x16 is selected I see 6-16 as inputs and outputs. is it possible to hide those on the sketch / hardware level? also is it possible to add custom port names? for example = YAMAHA_TX7 instead of MIDIIN1? and for clarity I am aware I can hide ports on some software on the computer, but not all programs I have can do that. Thanks folks!

    code

    https://github.com/OddballNo3/Midi-b.../interface_5x5

  2. #2
    Senior Member vjmuzik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    700
    Without editing the core files you canít, but if you donít mind doing that then yes you can, for the number of ports you just have to change one define for the usb type you are using. Hereís the link for the USBMIDI_16 define location: https://github.com/PaulStoffregen/co...sb_desc.h#L476

    As for the custom port names itís a little more involved and I did it a long time ago so itís not up to date, but if you want an idea you can look through the files here: https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/50043...IDI-Port-Names

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    16
    replaced 16 with 5 on # of cables, and I still see the other 11 ports. tried reboots, reloads and replugging, still there.. any more thoughts?

  4. #4
    Senior Member vjmuzik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    700
    First off make sure you are changing it for the same usb type you using, second off the device will be cached in your operating system so since it was first recognized as a 16 port device it won’t change it until you delete the device just like you have to do when you do a name change.

  5. #5
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    23,080
    There are 2 copies of that file, one for Teensy 4.x, the other for Teensy 3.x. Maybe you edited the wrong file? (from these messages, I can't even tell which Teensy you're using...)

    The file for Teensy 4.x has 2 complete copies of the configuration descriptor, one for 480 MBit speed and the other for 12 MBit speed. If you edit that file, make sure you get both.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    Maybe you edited the wrong file? (from these messages, I can't even tell which Teensy you're using...)
    oops.. yeah, I realized that last night afterwards.. its a 4.0 and I only edited one file.. I'll edit the other, delete the device, and report back

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    16
    yup was changing the file in the teensy3 folder.. change the right figure and it works as described. Thanks guys!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •