Building a Music-Responsive LED Speaker - HELP!(Has fun diagram)

Status
Not open for further replies.

onionwasabi

Hi all, I have been learning Microcontrollers(Arduino&ESP32) to build speaker like JBL Pulse, or a 'Bluetooth music reactive LED speakers' that is ACTUALLY visually mesmerizing.

I've been dreaming about this project for so long(like 6 years?), but lack of technological knowledge kept me from starting it. Annnnnd I finally decided to pursue it by learning along the way. (I majored in Economics, all I have is ~1 year of c++ and 5 month of Arduino experience).

I watched tons of videos to figure out my big plan but I am a noob, helpless. I literally don't know what I am doing. So here I am on Reddit, looking for advice from experts like you. So any kind of suggestion/advice/sharing related projects is much appreciated. =)

Polygon Blueprint2.jpg

Project Goal

If you know JBL Pulse, you already know what I am talking about. It is similar to JBL pulse, but much cooler with addressable LEDs & FFT(512~1024bin) & FastLED Library.

Dev board plays music just like a typical bluetooth speaker through Bluetooth or AUX cord.

Dev board does FFT on streamed music, and use that data to manipulate LED Matrix.

I saw videos https://youtu.be/jTqKfHqB1BQ by Youtuber Platinum and thought it was super dope. I thought that there was much more to experiment with bigger FFT size(more bins) instead of only 7~14 band and experimental shapes.

Questions

1. Shortcut?
I was thinking of buying a speaker TG187(JBL Xtreme knockoff) and disassemble it to hook it up with Teensy on ADC pin to get FFT, so that I can skip bluetooth speaker part.Is this how FFT works? or am I missing something? Disassembly → https://youtu.be/klZX4x88qFs?t=328

2. How to FFT directly?(without Analog)