No communication with teensy 4.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

TimWTB

Hi I am new here and in the world of teensy's. I have no background in electrical engineering or programming, I have programmed with an arduino a few times. This is the first time with a teensy mircocontroller.

Problem:
After receiving the teensy I soldered the headers at home. The teensy connected to the PC. With the teensy.exe demo blink hex file uploaded first the fast blink then the slow one.
Then uploaded with the teensyduino blink sketch. Everything went great. Then uploaded my custom MIDI code (see project / background below) without LED code added. The code worked (at least the pc saw the teensy as a midi controller).
Then I uploaded the full code. With LED-strip WS2812b (72 leds) connected to digital output 6 and the ground. 5v for the leds came from an atx power supply. Furthermore, nothing was connected.

Schematic.png

After upload nothing happened. No lights or errors. But the Pc did not recognize teensy as a midi controller.

Win.JPG

Settings:
Board “teensy 4.1”
USB type "serial + midi"
CPU-speed “600 Mhz”
Optimalize "faster"
Keyboard layout “US”​

After everything disconnected the teensy did nothing. The pc does not recognize the teensy and neither the teensy.exe, windows and teensyduino. Only the red LED at the USB port flickers. When I press the reset button for 10 seconds, the red LED goes out and quickly turns on after 10 seconds. When I release the reset button the orange led starts blinking.

But the PC does not recognize the teensy even now. Press the reset button again (briefly) and the red LED will light up again. The PC gives after 27 sec. (See the video
) a Windows error code 43.

When I try to upload something with aruino ide the teensy is not in the list if the COM ports. And gives the error that no teensy was found.