Make Teensy act like a USB file system?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kdharbert

I need to return JPEG files to a PC. It would be great if I could configure Teensy to act like a USB file system. Is this possible?

Is there any other way to use the USB port to transfer data without using serial?

Oops sorry. Teensy 4.1.
I saw some MSC threads, but it seemed the implementation was unfinished.

You are correct. It is still work in progress but is still usable. There are several branches I have made the latest being MSC-non-blocking. So far I have used it with uSDFS which uses FatFs. All of these are functional but not necessarily complete or optimized because of my programming skills:( But they do function:) I am still learning c++ and am trying to keep up with programming wizards on this forum. The latest version can use asynchronous access to reads and writes of a USB host mass storage device but needs a multitasking type of file system to work. Right now it is just doing direct sector reads/writes (destructive).

I have just now got MSC working with SdFat-beta using the latest version of @Paul's SD, SdFat-beta libraries.

This is still WIP.

More to come:)

Thanks. Please confirm: this library will allow me to write files to the onboard SD card and the SD card's file system will be visible to a windows PC when the Teensy is attached via USB.

Thanks. Please confirm: this library will allow me to write files to the onboard SD card and the SD card's file system will be visible to a windows PC when the Teensy is attached via USB.

I think what you are looking for is MTP. Here is what you probably want. https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/43050-MTP-Responder-Contribution It turns the Teensy into an MTP drive. My libraries at this time are meant for the USB Host port on the T3.6, T4.0 and T4.1.

I just updated my fork of it from the main sources: https://github.com/WMXZ-EU/MTP_t4 last update was 9 days ago...