Problems with TFT color display with Teensy 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Indy

Hello all,

I've been playing with the Teensy 4 (T4) for awhile with no issues and recently I picked up the color TFT display from PJRC to use with it. Although I have a lot of experience with electronics and microcontrollers (mainly ATmega based) this is the first time I've used a TFT display and SPI communications.

So, my problem is that I cannot get the TFT display to consistently work. For example, I built the 1st circuit on a breadboard - worked fine with no problems. 2nd circuit, display doesn't work at all (white screen). I built a harness for the display, worked fine with no issues. Built a second identical harness, doesn't work (white screen). Had some PCBs made - one worked fine, others wouldn't work at all (white screen). Never say never, but I've went thru so many iterations of building and rebuilding these circuits I'm 99.9% sure it is not an issue of wiring the displays.

On the last PCB I tried I noticed if my finger was on one end of the display PCB the screen would operate correctly on power-up, once I took my finger off it would go white screen. The end I was touching was Vcc, Gnd, CS, RESET, DC... This is consistently repeatable (also with a different display).

I have tried a different Teensy and a different display - the good circuits worked, the 'bad' circuits don't. I found a few mentions of ground bounce and tried to beef up the ground connections - didn't help. I found the thread on this forum suggesting using 10K pull-up resistor for CS and DC - didn't help.

Sorry for the length. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,
David

Hey, it seems we are on a boat quite alike, only you've got a lot of experience, mine I thought was something, but recently been doubting about it...