Ethernet on Teensy 4.1 - Beginner

BlueCoder

I'm new to Teensy. The IDE is a little confusing. I have managed to compile and transfer the basic blink program and others. USB cable is stable and working.

I'm trying to get the native ethernet working.

I have two Teensy 4.1's and two ethernet kits assembled. I have verified the cable to my router and DHCP is working. The IDE and current libraries as of a week ago are installed. I purchased the ethernet kits off Ebay for what it matters.

I have tried both the examples WebClient and LinkStatus unmodified as exist in the examples and neither work with any combination of hardware. The ethernet cable is oriented according to the picture on the PCRJ website. The serial console shows failure with both examples. No lights on the jack connected to the Teensy 4.1 or router show up.

Please help and Thank you in advance.

Personally, I have no experience with Ethernet, but I can imagine that others on this forum would appreciate a picture of your setup. Not sure also if ethernet kits from e-bay are suited for T4.1. Again, more details or pictures would help.

Images indeed - and a link to the ebay thing? In US at least it is $3.60 for a PJRC designed and tested set of parts. But it takes a magjack with specific specs - properly wired - to work with the ethernet chip mounted on the T_4.1 PCB.

Given the odds of low quality or reject parts on some things from ebay - not sure I'd look to save money trusting something so new and cheap to be well done on ebay without knowing the actual components. Digikey can source the actual components for a couple bucks and the small PJRC boards from OSH are only a couple buck as well.

It may be a good piece - but if using the current TeensyDuino and properly connected it should be working. I haven't tested it much since the hardware Beta with a connector board supplied by PJRC. Just got a kit from PJRC - and the OSH boards and digikey parts but not yet built any to test.