Port Numbering:: Starting at 0 vs 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

methods

I don't have a particularly strong opinion on the subject, just a morbid curiosity.

Being a programmer, I lean toward starting at 0. On the Teensy 3.6 CAN port numbering started at 0.

3_6vs4_1.png

On the Teensy 4.1, I see port numbering now starting at 1.

... It is totally unimportant to me, but I am curious. Is that an artifact of::

* Naming on the target chips carrying thru?
* Different Engineer on pin assignments?
* Trying different things to see how they feel? (I do that)

I am guessing it is a reflection of the naming convention used on the chip.

thanks,
-methods

It could be to bring it in line with Serial ports where Serial (aka Serial0) is USB Serial and Serial1,2,2...etc are real serial ports.
Not making a definitive answer, just surmising.
Happy Christmas everyone, and looking forward to an eventual covid19 free new year.

On Teensy 3.2/3.5, you have CAN0
On Teensy 3.6, you have CAN0 and CAN1
on Teensy 4.0/4.1, you have CAN1,CAN2, and CAN3.

It's based on the hardware layout names on the controller as per the RM. In the case of T4.x CAN0 does not exist on the RM, and neither does WDT0 (watchdog reference). If you suggest can 0,1,2 for teensy 4, how would people react to looking for the CANFD controller, or WDT3 for that fact.��

Lucky for you though, the CAN library supports sketch based user objects rather than pre-initialized. So no matter what CANx port you use, you can label it Can0 if you want, or in my case, BCAN and FCAN

As far as the CAN support on the Teensy, stupendous. :rolleyes:

I set up a test station the other day, and it took on the order of 3 lines of code to be completely up and spilling hex to the terminal. Those who have been around a couple of decades know how valuable of a time saver that is. CAN used to be a real chore to sort out, especially from one chip to the next.