FIR filter with Teensy 4 + audio adapter

Status
Not open for further replies.

fred_france

Hello,

I am a beginner in the world of Teensy, and I bought a version 4.0 + the audio adapter.
I want to experiment audio filters (bandpass, high pass, low pass).

For this, I want to use an FIR filter, but I can't seem to get any valid response curves.

To start, I tried the example provided in Audio / Effects / Filter_FIR, and I measured the frequency response of the low pass filter: the shape is correct, but I only have -10dB of attenuation at 2Khz instead of -60 dB as advertised in the demo sketch.

Moreover, I tried to generate my own tables of coefficients with a tool (http://t-filter.engineerjs.com/), by setting: 44117hz, 200 taps, and changing "static int" to "const short ”, the results curves are catastrophic.

I noticed that the examples found on the internet are for a Teensy v3.x and not for v4, maybe some settings need to be adapted for my version 4?

thanks a lot for your help

(sorry for my bad english)

Datatype short is 16 bit - it is too low resolution for coefficients of a good filter. Also if you just change the data type from int to short, you will likely overflow the range, as short has only +/-2^15 range (-32768...+32767) while int spans much higher range (-2^31...+2^31) so all coefficients get wrong. To avoid overflowing the range, when changing from int to short you would need to divide all coefficients by 65536 (2^16). For good quality filters you need either int or float. Super sharp filter may even need double (note that the tool you pointed out only supports int and double).

Hello,

I am a beginner in the world of Teensy, and I bought a version 4.0 + the audio adapter.
I want to experiment audio filters (bandpass, high pass, low pass).

For this, I want to use an FIR filter, but I can't seem to get any valid response curves.