Teensy 4.1 porting audio to "SDA" pin to be displayed on an I2C OLED Display.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rholt51

Teensy 4.1 porting audio to "SDA" pin to be displayed on an I2C OLED Display.

I'm looking to use an SDD1306 OLED (128x128) (although I could use another OLED if that would help) to display wave data as a waveform.
I understand that I'm going to have to sample the audio in order to have the waveform 'sync' on the display.
but (and I'm rather new to Teensy), how can get the Audio signal from my Teensy Audio Shield out the teensy 4.1 SDA pin (pin18) ?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Russ from Ocala, Florida, USA

I suspect there are many parts to your question, and I'm not sure I understand exactly what you are asking.

First of all you can't display raw analog values on a display. I.e. the Teensy is not an oscilliscope directly (though you can run programs that make it act as a scope).

You have to read the audio into digital format. Then you do what ever transformation you want on the digital form. To print out the value on to the display, you have to use a library that takes the digital signal and plots it on the display. You will need to dive into the display library to get more information about this.

To hook up a display there several different ways to connect the display. The two most common methods are I2C and SPI.

In the Teensy 4.1 environment, the main I2C and SPI use certain pins:
  • The main I2C bus uses pins 18 (SDA) and 19 (SCL), plus ground and 3.3v;
  • The main SPI bus uses pins 11 (MOSI), 12 (MISO), and 13 (SCLK), plus possibly several other pins (CS, D/C, and possibly reset);
  • Note for older Teensy 3.x boards, the audio adapter forces you to use alternate pins for SPI, but the Teensy 4.x uses the standard pins.