Touchscreen problem Teensy 4.1, ILI9341t3n library and XPT2046 touchscreen

SteveW

Hi all, wonder if the experts here can help me get the ILI9341 touchscreen working. I bought a couple of chinese IL9341 boards from ebay, visually pretty identical to the part sold by PJRC in the US. I checked that the board contains a 2046 touchscreen controller, it does, though its a compatible type, HR2046. The prototype setup is using wire wrap/solder, I'm still learning the technique and have gained a better strip tool since it was constructed! I've treble beep-checked all wiring and its ok, including repeated connectivity checks topside between the Teensy 4.1 and display board. There are no adjacent pin shorts either. The SPI0 interface pins are standard as per my code comments and according to the Teensy 9341 guidance on this site. Reset is via 1k/0.1u cap rather than software. The board backlight LED is wired to a Teensy pin. Default SPI0 pins are used for the ILI9341 and controller both, SPI1 is wired to a DPS310 barometric sensor breakout. The touchscreen, display and DPS310 all have individual CS pins.

I developed some DPS310 code that outputs nicely to the ILI9341 display, using the t3n library, no problems seen. I can run the display's SPI at 100MHz fine even with the touchscreen in parallel on the bus. I've slowed that rate in the test code below though. Display refresh becomes invisible when I use buffered writes with t3n screenUpdate() but I've also not used those features in the test code below. When I ran into problems adding touchscreen code to my code I switched to trying the PS library example code below instead, it doesn't set up SPI1 so that hardware should not be relevant here.