Programming the Teensy 4.0 with GCC. Examples?

dettus

Hey guys! So... i got this wonderful Teensy 4.0. It is my first endeavour into the world of Arduino and i would like to apologize for asking stupid questions.

Anyways... since i am an experienced C programmer, i would like to be able to program it with gcc.
So far i was able find the makefile which is compiling the blinking LED example. Which is a good start!
Now i want more. For one thing, i would like to use the USB port as a serial output interface. How would I be able to do that?

Whenever I google, i seem to stumble upon example .ino files. I am not sure if those are helpful... are they?

INO files are C/cpp files that the Arduino IDE uses as source to use the gcc compiler to generate the executable loaded onto the Teensy.

Same tools if you get the makefile working or use the IDE : it uses the gcc tools prepared, installed, and tested for creating valid Teensy ARM binaries.

Using Arduino IDE along with TeensyDuino Installer just gives access to the years of coding that has gone into USB for Serial output or input in various forms as well as tested libraries for SPI, i2c, Serial and other libraries for onboard hardware.

The IDE's INO file is by dafault CPP and gets some preprocessing to allow function use without prototypes and other hand holding. But it only needs to supply setup() and loop() that can call to .c or CPP files of your choice to have the installed gcc toolchain build them as well.

Nice!
Okay, that helped. Thank you.

Since I am not a big fan of IDE, all I would have to do is to figure out would be what kind of "pre-processing" is being done.

Pre-Processing is trivial help as noted. It scans for funcs and makes forward declaration prototypes as needed so users don't have to - just pre-processing manipulations that have no effect on the resulting code otherwise. Variables and everything else follow C/Cpp rules to build.