Exact 5MHz pulse using Teensy 4.1

nav

Hello,

i am new to Arduino programming. I am trying to generate multiple PWM pulses (Synchronous) with 50% duty cycle (as close to square wave as possible) using the digitalWriteFast command in Teensy 4.1. I am able to get 4.96MHz as well 5.13MHz but not able to get exact 5.00MHz. Can you guide me through this issue? Also, if I use delayNanoseconds of 100, it is giving me around 4.1 MHz and not 5MHz. Can someone explain the reason behind this as well? I needed exact 5MHz so that I can operate the piezo crystal at its resonance frequency to generate optimum amplitude.
Thank you.

Code:
void setup() {
  analogWriteFrequency(2, 5000000);
  analogWrite(2, 128);
}

void loop() {
}

file.png

Also, if I use delayNanoseconds of 100, it is giving me around 4.1 MHz and not 5MHz. Can someone explain the reason behind this as well?

In general using a delay style function will be inaccurate as it only accounts for time in the delay call,
not time outside it. If there were a nanos() call (which could be useful for the T4 ...) you could theoretically
fix this like this:

Code:
void loop()
{
  static uint32_t timestamp = 0 ;
  static int state = LOW ;
  if (nanos() - timestamp >= 100)
  {
    timestamp += 100 ;   // update the scheduled time
    digitalWriteFast (pin, state) ;
    state = ! state ;
  }
}
This pattern can be used with millis() or micros() to provide precise timing (modulo any jitter due to interrupts and
the overhead of running the loop).

However here the period is very short and a hardware driven method will be superior.

Thank you for your quick reply.
I tried a similar code but this time, frequency is not a problem, synchronization is. I wanted it to be in perfect synchronization from the first to the last wave in a pulse.
My code looks like

void setup() {
analogWriteFrequency(SigA, freq);
analogWriteFrequency(SigB, freq);
pulseON= 100;
pulseOFF= pulseON;
}

void loop() {
for( ; ; ){
analogWrite(SigA, 128);