Switching and porting from Arduino Mega to Teensy 4.1 led strip project

Status
Not open for further replies.

AleMonti

Hi everyone,
I'm doing a pre-programmed lighting show synced to a video (~1.5h long) with 435 + 448 + 162 WS2812B 5V and 6 5050 12V strips. I'm now running an Arduino Mega but after programming the first 5 minutes I noticed that the flash storage is way too small for the whole show. My current approach is using endless lines of code to "encode" the lighting sequences. To save space I could have stored them as data on an SD to then be ran through an interpreter and displayed, but even though it's not the ideal solution I'm going on with the "endless sketch" approach because it's way easier to implement. I, therefore, want to switch to a Teensy 4.1, which not only gives me all the storage I need but also has way faster processing capabilities which are a plus for what I'm trying to achieve.

I'm completely new to the Teensy platform and I still don't consider myself an advanced user of microcontrollers so I have a few questions about the setup and about some electronics as well.

• I'm planning to use the Teensyduino IDE. Do you think porting will be easy?
  • It looks like Teensy's logic of 3.3V is not good for the WS2812B data lines. I'm planning to use a 74HCT245 like this to step up at 5V. The only difference is that I'll use A2-B2 and A3-B3 too as I have 3 strips.
  • I plan to use FastLED together with OctoWS2811 to drive the leds, similar to how is illustrated here. Is this the best approach?