First Project - Questions about Audio Adaptor Board

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm about to start my first build, a sample player in a footswitch. I have the majority of the parts already, and just have a couple questions as this is my first project with a Teensy.

First off, I purchased these to attach the Teensy and Audio Adaptor Board, and now that I have them, I'm completely at a loss as to how I'm supposed to solder anything between the two insulators. Am I supposed to be able to slide one of the insulators off and put it back on? https://www.pjrc.com/store/header_14x1_d.html

Secondly, I'm planning on using the line out, and very rarely if ever using the headphone jack. It seems like from what I've read that the volume control only effects the headphone jack, which is fine for my purposes. If I want to use that pin on the Teensy for something else, is it best to not solder it to the Audio Board? Could I then attach a physical volume control to the Audio Board for the occasional headphone jack use in the future, or is that pin on the Teensy required for the volume control to work?

Am I supposed to be able to slide one of the insulators off and put it back on?
No you don't, see this image on how the boards are mounted [ignore the second audio board on the bottom].

If I want to use that pin on the Teensy for something else, is it best to not solder it to the Audio Board?
If you don't solder a potmeter on the audio board, than pin 15/A1 is free for your own use.

Paul

No you don't, see this image on how the boards are mounted [ignore the second audio board on the bottom].

Ahh, that makes more sense. Thank you.

If you don't solder a potmeter on the audio board, than pin 15/A1 is free for your own use.

So there won't be any adverse effects if pin 15 is soldered to the Audio Board but there's no volume pot?

Ahh, that makes more sense. Thank you.